Canada Soccer

Vancouver Island University wins CCAA men's championship

Posted on 12 November 2017 in Around the Soccer World

The Vancouver Island University Mariners won their second national title at the 2017 CCAA Men's Soccer Championship. The Nanaimo-based school and host of the 2017 championship won 1:0 over Douglas College in an all-British Columbia final on Saturday 11 November.

Stefan Cukovic of Regina scored the lone goal of the final, striking what turned out to be the gold-medal goal in the 14th minute. David Turkstra posted the clean sheet while Shun Takano was named Most Valuable Player of the championship.

Vancouver Island University previously won the CCAA men's championship in 2010. The school now has five CCAA medals, having also won silver in 2012 and 2014 as well as bronze in 2011.

In the championship final, the Vancouver Island University starting XI featured David Turkstra (goal), Colin Knight, Shun Takano, Chris Merriman, Stefan Cukovic, Jeff Travis, Jamie Taylor, Jordan DeGraaf, Gouinda Innes, Ryan McCurdy, and Hussein Behery. Coach Chris Merriman featured Ben Robson, Andres Algarin, Peter Cooper, Joel Harry, and Stephen Ewashko as substitutes. Russell Lederer and Fernando Fenollosa dressed but did not feature.

Juan Marquez served as referee in the championship final.

1. Vancouver Island University
2. Douglas College
3. Holland College
4. Keyano College
5. Durham College
6. Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
7. Algonquin College
8. Collège Ahuntsic

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer