Canada Soccer

Vancouver Club Inter win BC Cup provincial title

Posted on 15 May 2017 in ↳ Challenge Trophy

Vancouver's Club Inter won the 2017 British Columbia men's provincial title with a 2:0 win over Aldergrove United. It marked Club Inter's first provincial title, coming just two years after they lost in the final to EDC FC Burnaby.

Former national youth team player Milad Rahmati scored both goals, each time late in the half. He scored the opening goal in the 41st minute right after Marco Visintin hit the post and then he scored deep into added time of the second half after Milad Mehrabi sent him into the box. With the win, Club Inter have qualified for Canada Soccer's 2017 National Championships Challenge Trophy finals in Langley, British Columbia.

There were plenty of chances in the match, with Mehrabi hitting the crossbar in the 10th minute and then star of the match Erman Ozkan stopping a Aldergrove penalty attempt in the 17th minute. Aldergrove were close again in the 38th minute when a Brett Wiens header hit the crossbar, but stayed out.

Late in the second half with the score still 1-0, Aldergrove goalkeeper Josef Duben made a big save on Alex Marrello, tipping the shot off the crossbar. 

"It has been a roller coaster of a year," said player-coach Joseph Marrello. "Over the last bit, though, we figured out our strategy: being defensively sound, having a good shape, and our forwards scoring goals when we need them."

In the provincial final, Club Inter's starting XI featured Erman Ozkan in goal, Anthony Marrello at right back, Todd Lucyk and Ryan Zahariia at centre back, Donald Kambere at left back, Alex Marrello, Marco Visintin, and Brendan Shaw in the midfield, and Milad Rahmati, Michael Nonni, and Milad Mehrabi up front. Liam Miller featured as a substitute late in the match while Tyron Ehiwe, Andrew Fink, Dennis Kindel, Jordan Michael, David Pogrebinsky, Colin Streckmann, Mike Tempesta, and player-coach Joseph Marrello dressed but did not feature. Both Michael D'Agostino (injured) and Bryan Fong were unavailable for the final

Canada Soccer’s National Championships are Canada's premier amateur soccer competitions. This year marks the 95th edition of the adult men's competition and 36th edition of the adult women's competition. While the competition has sometimes featured professional or semi-professional teams, since the early 1960s the National Championships have strictly featured amateur teams. Since 2008, the National Championships have been complemented by the Amway Canadian Championship featuring professional clubs

In Canada's 150th year, Canada Soccer will crown their 150th national champions across all adult and professional competitions since 1913. The 2017 competitive season will crown the Futsal Canadian Championship winners in April (Montréal Sporting Outlaws FC), the professional Canadian Championship winners in June, and the amateur National Championships women's Jubilee Trophy and men's Challenge Trophy winners in October.

(With files from Mark Aitken and BC Soccer)


Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer