Canada Soccer

Toronto FC wins 2010 Nutrilite Canadian Championship

Posted on 2 June 2010 in Canadian Championship

Toronto FC closed off the 2010 Nutrilite Canadian Championship by parading the Voyageurs Cup in front of its fans at BMO Field on Wednesday 2 June. With the title already clinched, Toronto played out 90 minutes to a 0:0 draw against Vancouver Whitecaps FC.

This was the sixth and final match of the 2010 Nutrilite Canadian Championship. All three teams played four matches each, with Toronto FC finishing first with eight points (2-2-0), Vancouver Whitecaps FC finishing second with four points (0-4-0), and Impact Montréal finishing third with two points (0-2-2). By winning the championship, Toronto FC qualifies for 2010-11 CONCACAF Champions League to face Motagua in the preliminary phase this July.

Both teams fielded very young teams. Toronto FC's starting XI featured Milos Kocic in goal, Doneil Henry at right back, Ty Harden and Nane Joseph at centre back, Raivis Hscanovics at left back, Sam Cronin, Martin Saric, Julian de Guzman and Gabriel Gala at midfield, and Fuad Ibrahim and Allando Matheson up front. As Toronto had already clinched the championship, assistant coach Leo Percovich served as the team's head coach for the day with Preki up in the stands.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC, meanwhile, featured Jay Nolly in goal, Wes Knight at right back, Luca Bellisomo and Nelson Akwari at centre back, Zurab Tsiskaridze at left back, Philippe Davies, Jonny Steele, Ricardo Sanchez and Nizar Khalfan at midfield, and Marcus Haber and Cornelius Stewart up front.

Just four minutes into the match, Toronto's Joseph went down hurt, thus creating the first scoring chance for Vancouver. Vancouver hesitated, however, and was unable to capitalize.

As for Joseph, he was replaced by Maksim Usanov.

Then in the 31st minute, Vancouver got into discipline problem as Marcus Haber was shown a red card for his tackle on Doneil Henry. The Whitecaps were forced to play a man down for the rest of the match.

Both teams had some chances throughout the match, but never seemingly dangerous at the feet of the young debutans from both teams. In the second half, Nicholas Lindsay had what could have been a good chance, but he fired it wide at the short side. Lindsay was the second of Toronto's three substitutions during the match, replacing de Guzman in the 46th minute. The third substitution was Matheson off in favour of Dwayne De Rosario in the 66th minute.

As for Vancouver, coach Teitur Thordarsson replaced Sanchez off in favour of Martin Nash (70th minute), Khalfan off in favour of Justin Moose (78'), and Stewart off for Randy Edwini-Bonsu (81'). No combination for either side would produce a goal on this night.

As part of the post-match ceremony, Toronto FC captain Dwayne De Rosario accepted the Voyageurs Cup from Canadian Soccer Association president Dr. Dominic Maestracci. De Rosario also won the George Gross Memorial Trophy as the championship's most valuable player for a second consecutive season.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer