Canada Soccer

Teibert, Raymer named Canadian U-17 Players of the Year

Posted on 15 December 2009 in Awards & Recognition

Canadian teenagers Russell Teibert and Abigail Raymer have been named Canadian U-17 Players of the Year for the 2009 soccer season. The two stars were honoured in a vote shared by national-team coaches (50%) and Canadian coaches who have taken the Canadian Soccer Association's national course at the B and A levels (50%).

Raymer is a member of Canada's women's U-17 team. She took part in the Canadian team's first camp in October as the team began preparations for the 2010 CONCACAF Women's Under-17 Championship in March. She started the 2009 season as a member of the Canadian Soccer Association's National Training Centre in British Columbia, but also as part of Gordon Head Gold in the Lower Island Soccer Association's 2008-09 Premier League. For the 2009-10 season, she joined the Vancouver Whitecaps FC Prospects development team.

In July, the Victoria, BC striker won a bronze medal with British Columbia at the 2009 BMO National Championships Nutrilite All Stars U-16 girls competition in Laval, QC. It was her second medal at the national championships, having previously won a gold at the 2007 Nutrilite All Stars U-14 competition in Longueuil, QC.

As for Teibert, the Niagara Falls, ON midfielder is now a two-time winner of the Canadian U-17 Player of the Year award. He split the 2009 season between the national U-17 team and the Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency side. He served as Canada's captain at the 2009 CONCACAF Men's Under-17 Championship in Tijuana, Mexico. He scored Canada's first goal of the opening match, a 1:1 draw with Honduras. At the club level, he took part in Whitecaps Residency trips to USA (Dallas Cup), Germany and Spain. Teibert also scored one goal and added four assists in 14 matches during the United Soccer Leagues Premier Development season. He scored his first PDL goal on 5 June against the Seattle Wolves.

Tomorrow, the Canadian Soccer Association will announce the 2009 Canadian U-20 Players of the Year. On Thursday (female) and Friday (male), the Association will announce the 2009 Canadian Players of the Year.


2009 – Russell Teibert & Abigail Raymer
2008 – Russell Teibert & Monica Lam-Feist
2007 – Olivier Lacoste-Lebuis & Monica Lam-Feist


Male Nominees (born 1992 or later) from the BMO Financial Group - Men's U-17 team / Joueurs en nomination (nés en 1992 ou après) de l'équipe masculine U17 Groupe financier BMO

1. Russell Teibert (44.5)
2. Derrick Bassi (23.6)
3. Jaineil Hoilett (14.8)
4. Kevin Cobby (12.1)
5. Francesco Augustin (2.3)
6. Jonathan Lao (2.3)

Female Nominees (born 1993 or later) from the BMO Financial – Women's U-17 team / Joueuses en nomination (nées en 1993 ou après) de l'équipe féminine U17 Groupe financier BMO

1. Abigail Raymer (41.4)
2. Nicole Setterlund (25.9)
3. Haisha Cantave (10.5)
4. Diamond Simpson (8.7)
5. Sabrina Hémond (6.8)
6. Nour Ghoneim (4.3)
7. Sabrina D'Angelo (1.9)

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer