Canada Soccer

Surrey United Firefighters win provincial title

Posted on 12 May 2012 in ↳ Challenge Trophy

The Surrey United Firefighters have qualified for the 2012 National Championships Challenge Trophy competition. The British Columbia club qualified on Saturday 12 May by winning the 2012 BC Soccer Men's "A" Cup, holding off Delta United in a 3:2 victory at Burnaby Lake West. This marks the first time Surrey United Firefighters have qualified for the National Championships since the Firefighters merged with Surrey United.

Also on Saturday 12 May, Surrey United women's club qualified for the 2012 National Championships Jubilee Trophy competition. It marks the first time since 1994 that a British Columbia club sends teams to both the Challenge Trophy (men's A) and Jubilee Trophy (women's A) competitions.

In the 2012 BC Soccer provincial final, Jeff Clarke, Steve McCauley and Angus Burke scored for the Surrey United Firefighters. The team was up 3-0 before Delta United mounted a shortlived comeback in the second half. After Delta United scored its second goal with five minutes remaining, the team was reduced to 10 men following an ejection.

Player-coach Niall Thompson said the title was, "a huge accomplishment" for the club. The team has won six trophies over the last three years, but until Saturday had not won the provincial title. The team had reached the British Columbia final in 2010, but Surrey United Firefighters lost 1:2 to Gorge FC of Victoria.

"It was a bit nervy at the end, but overall we deserved to win," said Thompson. "We dominated the first half and most of the second half."

In the provincial final, the Surrey United Firefighters lineup featured Paul Shepherd in goal, Braden Volkenant at right back, Steve McCauley and Brad Peetoom at centre back, Steve Kindel at left back, Angus Burke, Vince Stewart, Nicola Perugini and Colin Streckmann at midfield, and Jeff Clarke and Ryan Reynolds up front.

Also in the Surrey United Firefghters lineup for the final were Thompson, Sean Parks, Liam Miller, Raby Jammu, Jordan Whitehead, Graham Spink and Andrew Proctor.

To reach the final, Surrey United Firefighters won 5:1 over Peace Arch United on 14 April, 1:0 over West Van FC on 22 April, and 1:0 over Poco FC on 28 April. Delta United Hurricanes, meanwhile, won 2:1 over Vic West FC on 15 April, 2:1 over Gordon Head Applebees on 22 April, and 1:0 over Metro-Ford Wolves on 29 April.

While this will mark the Surrey United Firefighters' first trip to the Challenge Trophy competition, the previous incarnation Vancouver Firefighters made trips in 1990, 1998 and 2006. The Vancouver Firefighters won the Challenge Trophy as national champions in 1990.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer