Canada Soccer

Surrey's BC Tigers win 2018 BC Province Cup

Posted on 14 May 2018 in ↳ Challenge Trophy

With files from Michael McColl

BC Tigers Rovers won their first British Columbia Province Cup in dramatic fashion on Mother's Day weekend. Down a goal in the last minute, player-coach Nick Soolsma scored the equaliser from the penalty spot and then completed his hat trick in extra time as the Surrey-based won the provincial title and qualified for the 2018 Toyota National Championships.

BC Tigers won 5:2 after extra time over Langley United, who were moments away from the title before conceding the 93rd minute penalty. In extra time, Pavi Dhillon scored the winner before Soolsma and Karn Phagura added two more.

Langley United's Elie Gindo opened the scoring in the 18th minute before Soolsma equalised in the 23rd minute. Langley then made it 2-1 in the 77th minute.

"It was tough," said Soolsma of the provincial finals. "We played four games and in three of those games we had to come back from being down. This game was really close, but we still believed in it. You never give up.

"We took (our) defenders out and put attackers in. We put every ball into the box and we fought to the end. Eventually it worked out. We got a penalty and we scored the equaliser."

Soolsma, a two-time Canadian Championship winner with Toronto FC, is in his first season with BC Tigers.

"It's a new experience for me being player/coach of a men's team. This is my first season. I like to help the young players and put my experience in the team. That's all I can do. Then on the field I can still play of course. The first season worked out well and I'm happy that the team won it. I think overall, with the qualities in the team, we were the best team in British Columbia, so I think we deserved it."

In the provincial final, BC Tigers' starting XI featured Manraj Hothi in goal, Arjan Grewal at right back, Jason Gill and Navjot Thind at centre back, Sarpreet Pahal at left back, and Harpreet Khakh, Cam Hundal, Nick Soolsma, Karn Phagura, Ryan Dhillon, and Pavi Dhillon from the midfield up through to the attack. Joey Brar, Rahid Rahiem and Rylan Sangha featured as substitutes while Gary Badesha, Jeevi Rai, David Chohan, Gurjot Lehal, Ashif Ismail, and Pratap Sandhu were all dressed as substitutes.

Canada Soccer’s Toyota National Championships serves as our nation’s premier amateur competition, with the 2018 edition featuring more than 600 clubs from across the country competing for a spot at one of three locations: the men’s Challenge Trophy and women’s Jubilee Trophy finals in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan; the boys and girls U-17 Cup finals in Surrey, British Columbia; and the boys and girls U-15 Cup finals in Laval, Québec. The Toyota National Championships provide a meaningful soccer experience for host cities and participating teams, as well as the players, coaches, support staff, officials, and volunteers. These competitions are complimented by both the Futsal Canadian Championship and the Canadian Championship featuring Canada’s professional clubs.



Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer