Canada Soccer

Sportsnet unveils further details to Olympic Qualifying broadcast

Posted on 17 January 2012 in Women's National Team / Olympic Team

Sportsnet goes for soccer gold, bringing viewers wall-to-wall, live HD coverage of all 15 games from the 2012 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament at BC Place in Vancouver. The tournament kicks off on Thursday 19 January with a doubleheader starting at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT with Costa Rica versus Cuba (Sportsnet East, Ontario, Pacific and ONE) followed by hometown favourite Canada taking on Haiti at 22.30 ET / 19.30 PT in the must-see nightcap (Sportsnet Ontario, Pacific and ONE). Please see below for complete broadcast schedule.

SOCCER CENTRAL’s Gerry Dobson and Craig Forrest provide play by play and analysis, respectively, for all 15 games of the tournament. Craig MacEwen joins Dobson and Forrest at BC Place to host Sportsnet’s broadcasts, alongside one-time CONCACAF champion Kara Lang and (as of 23 January) Stephen Brunt. Breakfast Television Vancouver’s Jody Vance rounds out the broadcast team, updating fans from the sidelines.

Sportsnet’s all-inclusive coverage of the tournament also features a nightly show airing between matches, with updates and analysis from the broadcast team and special features by Stephen Brunt - including a sit down interview with Canadian captain Christine Sinclair on 19 January and head coach John Herdman on 21 January.

The 2012 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament features both Canada and USA, the two highest world-ranked teams in the eight-nation tournament. Herdman and Sinclair will be leading the Canadian team on a focused quest to a semi-final victory on 27 January, which will earn the team a berth to London 2012 Olympic Games.

In addition to providing comprehensive coverage of the live matches, Sportsnet keeps fans connected to the 2012 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament on its various platforms:

Sportsnet Connected

Beginning 19 January, Sportsnet Connected provides daily tournament previews, recaps, and highlights of the day’s matches.

sportsnet.ca

Every night throughout the tournament at 00.50 ET / 22.50 PT, sportsnet.ca updates fans on the day’s events with the exclusive “sportsnet.ca Post Game Show”, streamed live and also available for later viewing.

Sportsnet magazine

The latest edition of Sportsnet, on newsstands now, features a profile on Canadian head coach John Herdman as told by columnist Stephen Brunt. Herdman discusses his quick transition into his new role while leading his team to victory at the 2011 Pan American Games.

Sportsnet 590 The FAN and Sportsnet 960 The FAN

Listeners can tune in to Sportsnet 590 The FAN and Sportsnet 960 The FAN for scores, updates, exclusive interviews and breaking news as the tournament progresses.

Be sure to tune into Sportsnet to watch live coverage of every game of the 2012 CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualifying tournament:

Thursday 19 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Group A - Costa Rica vs. Cuba on Sportsnet One, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet Pacific
Thursday 19 January at 22.30 ET / 19.30 PT: Group A - Canada vs. Haiti on Sportsnet One, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet Pacific
Friday 20 January at 17.00 ET / 14.00 PT: Group B - Mexico vs. Guatemala on Sportsnet Pacific
Friday 20 January at 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT: Group B - Dominican Republic vs. USA on Sportsnet Pacific
Saturday 21 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Group A - Haiti vs. Costa Rica on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Saturday 21 January at 22.30 ET / 19.30 PT: Group A - Canada vs. Cuba on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Sunday 22 January at 17.00 ET / 14.00 PT: Group B - Mexico vs. Dominican Republic on Sportsnet One
Sunday 22 January at 19.00 ET / 16.00 PT: Group B - USA vs. Guatemala on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Monday 23 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Group A - Cuba vs. Haiti on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Monday 23 January at 22.30 ET / 19.30 PT: Group A - Canada vs. Costa Rica on Sportsnet One, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Tuesday 24 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Group B - Guatemala vs. Dominican Republic on Sportsnet One
Tuesday 24 January at 22.00 ET / 19.00 PT: Group B - USA vs. Mexico on Sportsnet One
Friday 27 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Semifinal #1 - B1 vs. A2 on Sportsnet One
Friday 27 January at 23.00 ET / 20.00 PT: Semifinal #2 - A1 vs. B2 on Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Sunday 29 January at 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT: Final - Winner A1/B2 vs. Winner B1/A2 on Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer