Canada Soccer

President Montagliani to sit on CONCACAF Executive Committee

Posted on 19 April 2013 in CONCACAF

As part of the XXVIII Ordinary CONCACAF Congress held in Panama City, Panama on 18-19 April, Canadian Soccer Association President Victor Montagliani has been named to the CONCACAF Executive Committee for the North Zone. Montagliani will serve a four-year mandate and replaces U.S. Soccer Federation President Sunil Gulati who has been elected to the FIFA Executive Committee.

“It is an honour to become the voice of our footballing zone within the CONCACAF region”, said Victor Montaglini, President, Canadian Soccer Association, following the announcement. “This is a role I take seriously and look forward to positively impact and stimulate our collective efforts in growing the game in Canada, CONCACAF and the world.”

Before being elected as Canadian Soccer Association 33rd President in May of 2012, Montagliani has served as President of the British Columbia Soccer Association and as Vice-President of the Canadian Soccer Association from 2005-2012. Over the years, he has served as a member of the National Organising Committee for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007, CONCACAF Gold Cup Organising Committee, FIFA’s Legal Committee and is currently a member of the National Organising Committee for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015.

CONCACAF Executive Committee consists of seven members: one Chairman, three Vice Presidents and three members, with each Vice President and member representing the geographical zones forming CONCACAF (North, Central America and Caribbean).

Montagliani’s election follows the recent appointment of a number of Canadian representatives to member position on various CONCACAF committees:

Victor Montagliani
Gold Cup Committee
Television and Media Advisory

Peter Montopoli
Women’s Championships Committee
Security/Fair Play Committee
Administration Panel

Steve Reed
Ethics Committee

Tony Fonseca
Technical Committee

John Herdman
Women’s Technical Committee

Hector Vergara
Referees Committee

Charlie Cuzzetto
Appeal Committee

Dr. Andrew Pipe
Sports Medicine Committee

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer