Canada Soccer

PEI Soccer annual awards celebrated

Posted on 27 February 2016 in Awards & Recognition

The Prince Edward Island Soccer Association celebrated their 2015 award winners on the heels of their 2016 Annual General Meeting. Both the meeting and awards banquet took place on Saturday 27 February at the Rodd Royalty Inn & Suites in Charlottetown, PE.

Jared Murphy won his second-straight PEISA Senior Male Athlete of the Year award while Briar Roberts took home the PEISA Senior Female Athlete of the Year award. Mark Smith was named the Youth Male Athlete of the Year while Danielle Younker was named the Youth Female Athlete of the Year.

In 2015, Murphy helped PEI FC win the New Brunswick Premier Soccer League. Roberts, meanwhile, starred for both Winsloe-Charlottetown Royals and Holland College Hurricanes, earning ACAA Conference Player of the Year honours at Holland College.

Other award winners were Justin MacKenzie as Coach of the Year, Ian Fradsham as Senior Official of the Year, Kate Compton as Youth Official of the Year, Ian Murray as Administrator of the Year, Jamie MacKinnon as Alan Godfrey Volunteer of the Year, and Julie VanLeeuwen for the Lowell Stewart Memorial Award. The Winsloe-Charlottetown Royals FC U-18 Boys team, who finished fifth at the 2015 Canada Soccer U-18 Cup, were named PEI Team of the Year.


Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer