Northwest Territories returns to Challenge Trophy competition

For the second-straight season, Northwest Territories will send a men's club to the Canadian Soccer Association National Championships Challenge Trophy competition. The select club - known as Yellowknife FC - will travel to Winnipeg, MB in early October to participate in the senior men's competition that has been played annually since 1913.

The 2012 National Championships run 3-8 October, with both the Challenge Trophy (senior men's) and Jubilee Trophy (senior women's) competitions played in Winnipeg, MB. Along with a second men's team, Northwest Territories will also send a senior women's team to the Jubilee Trophy competition for the first time.

Yellowknife FC's 15-player roster will be coached by Mark LeDrew. Players on the team are goalkeeper Ishai Forget-Manson, centre backs Yaw Osei and Damien Ramm, full backs Matthew Devries, Kurt Jensen and Ryan Wallace, midfielders Matthew Jason, Tony Ondrack and Matt Pontin, wingers Hovannes Adibekyan, Michael Ayiku and Gregory Brandford, and forwards Emmanuel Ayiku, Isaac Ayiku and Mark Gygax.

Since 2007, Northwest Territories have also sent club teams to the U-14 Cup (Boys in 2008 and 2011, Girls in 2007) and the U-16 Cup (Boys in 2007, Girls in 2007 and 2008).