Canada Soccer

Nine Canadian youth internationals eligible for NWSL 2014 College Draft

Posted on 16 January 2014 in Around the Soccer World

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced today the complete list of players eligible for selection in the 2014 NWSL College Draft, which will take place on Friday, 17 January at 10.00 ET / 7.00 PT at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Convention in Philadelphia.

Amongst the 185 players that have indicated their interest to play in the league this season feature nine Canadian youth internationals that are concluding their stint in the American college and university system.


Canadian Youth Internationals in NWSL 2014 College Draft
GK- Dayle Colpitts | USA / Virginia Tech
F- Christine Exeter | USA / University of Louisville
F- Nkem Ezurike | USA / University of Michigan
FB- Vanessa Legault-Cordisco | USA / Marquette University
D- Rachel Melhado | USA / University of Louisville
F- Christabel Oduro | USA / University of Memphis
F- Jenna Richardson | USA / Oregon State University
MF- Danica Wu | USA / Ohio State University
CB- Shelina Zadorsky | USA / University of Michigan

For the complete list of eligible players, visit

The draft will be held at the Pennsylvania Convention Center and will be open to the public. Fans will also be able to follow the draft on as well as on Twitter @NWSL. Seattle Reign FC color analyst and University of Washington women’s soccer head coach, Lesle Gallimore, will be providing her professional insight on the draft in a twitter takeover of @NWSL.

In addition, the NWSL will be hosting a Live Draft Chat on the league’s website including expert analysis from women’s soccer head coaches Nancy Feldman of Boston University and Janet Rayfield of University of Illinois. For the Live Draft Chat, visit

For more information on the draft, including the most updated Draft order, visit

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) is a nine-team Division-I women’s professional soccer league featuring national team players from Canada, Mexico and USA. The nine clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, the Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash. Based in Chicago, the NWSL is supported by the Canadian Soccer Association, Federation of Mexican Football and the United States Soccer Federation. For more information about the NWSL, log on to the league’s official website at

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer