Referee Pye continues at New Zealand 2008

Canada’s Michelle Pye is one of five FIFA referees selected to remain in New Zealand for the closing stages of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. Those stages feature the two semi-final matches in Christchurch on 13 November and both the final and match for third place in Auckland on 16 November.



Pye has been appointed to officiate the 13 November semi-final between England and Korea DPR. The match kicks off at 16.00 local time. The other semi-final match features USA and Germany.

Canada’s Michelle Pye is one of five FIFA referees selected to remain in New Zealand for the closing stages of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. Those stages feature the two semi-final matches in Christchurch on 13 November and both the final and match for third place in Auckland on 16 November.



Pye has been appointed to officiate the 13 November semi-final between England and Korea DPR. The match kicks off at 16.00 local time. The other semi-final match features USA and Germany.



“To be one of only five referees chosen to continue in this tournament is such an honour,” said Pye from New Zealand.



Pye, from Kamloops, BC, is a physical education and science teacher at Handsworth Secondary School in North Vancouver, BC. She has been a FIFA referee since 2007.



“We are delighted that Michelle has been chosen to remain for the final stages,” said Joe Guest, Canadian Soccer Association’s Director of Refereeing. “She had prepared for the tournament and has performed well in the games in which she has been involved.”



The FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup final takes place this Sunday 16 November at 16.00 local time in Auckland. The final will be broadcast on CBC Bold and CBCSports.ca on Saturday 15 November at 22.00 ET / 19.00 PT.

Schedule & Results

Check out Canada Soccer’s Schedule & Results page where you can find upcoming match schedules and past results leading to highlights, photos, match data, and more.