Canada Soccer

Justin Mapp wins 2013 George Gross Memorial Trophy

Posted on 29 May 2013 in Canadian Championship

Impact Montréal FC's Justin Mapp has won the George Gross Memorial Trophy after being selected most valuable player of the 2013 Amway Canadian Championship. Mapp won the award after leading Impact FC to the 2013 national title, helping his team clinch a spot in 2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League.

Mapp assisted on what turned out to be the championship-winning goal, serving a perfect corner kick that Hassoum Camara headed home in the competition finale. Mapp also scored a goal in the second leg of the semi-final series.

The 29-year old Mapp started all four matches of the Amway Canadian Championship. Impact eliminated Toronto FC in the two-leg semi-final series, then eliminated Vancouver Whitecaps FC in the two-leg championship final.

The George Gross Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the Amway Canadian Championship's most valuable player. Previous winners are Matt Jordan in 2008, Dwayne De Rosario in 2009 and 2010, Joao Plata in 2011, and Ryan Johnson in 2012.

Mr. George Gross had a prestigious career as a sports writer in Toronto, writing for the Toronto Telegram, the Soccer and Sport News (as publisher) and Toronto Sun (as founding sports editor). He served as one of the founders of the Eastern Professional Soccer League and also general manager of Toronto City Soccer Club in the early 1960s. In recognition of his years of service to sport, he was inducted to Canada's Sports Hall of Fame in 2005 and to The Soccer Hall of Fame in 2006. He passed away on 21 March 2008 at age 85.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer