Canada Soccer

Journey to St. John's: squads for the 2016 Challenge Trophy finals

Posted on 2 October 2016 in ↳ Challenge Trophy

On the journey to St. John's, the 12 Challenge Trophy finalists have submitted their rosters for the 2016 Sport Chek National Championships. The 12 squads feature 221 players that will be in Newfoundland Labrador from 5-10 October for a chance to lift the national Challenge Trophy at King George V Park.

Only one team is making their debut in 2016, with six returning champions and three other teams that have finished as runners up. From 221 players, there are 136 returning players (61%) and 85 debutants. The youngest returning player is 20 years old while the oldest is 40-year old Rudy Norman who debuted in the Challenge Trophy finals more than 20 years ago with the St. Lawrence Laurentians. All 20 teenagers at this year's finals, meanwhile, are all making their debuts.

The 2016 lineup features 16 players that have played with Canada Soccer's national youth teams, including Chris Lemire who appeared in one Men's National Team camp in 2004. There are also 29 former Challenge Trophy winners spread across eight of the 12 teams, including 2012 MVP Samuel Georget (Royal-Sélect Beauport) and 2013 MVP Tom MacDonald (Ottawa Gloucester Celtic).

Canada Soccer’s Sport Chek National Championships run 5-10 October 2016 in Moncton, New Brunswick, Lethbridge, Alberta, Vaughan, Ontario, and St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador. At all age levels, the Sport Check National Championships provide a meaningful soccer experience for host cities and participating teams, as well as the players, coaches, support staff, officials, and volunteers.

Visit the Sport Chek National Championships on

Challenge Trophy - #StJohns
Teams: 12 teams, 221 players
85 players making their debut in the Challenge Trophy finals
16 players with Canada Soccer youth team experience
Schedule: 30 matches (of which 23 are broadcast live)

Average age: 26 years, 4 months
Average height: 180 cm (5'11")
Shot: 185 right (83.7%), 28 left, 8 both

2016 Finalists (12):
Group A: Ottawa Gloucester Celtic, Charlottetown PEI FC, FC Winnipeg Lions
Group B: Edmonton Scottish, Western Halifax FC, Fredericton Picaroons Reds
Group C: Surrey Pegasus FC, Royal-Sélect Beauport, Mount Pearl
Group D: Saskatoon HUSA Alumni, Edmonton Green & Gold, St. Lawrence Laurentians

2016 Debutants (1):

Western Halifax Dunbrack

Returning champions (6):
2013 Ottawa Gloucester Celtic
2012 Royal-Sélect Beauport
2011 Saskatoon HUSA Alumni
2010 Churchill Arms (now known as PEI FC)
2004 Surrey Pegasus at
2002 Winnipeg Sons of Italy (now known as FC Winnipeg Lions)

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer