Canada Soccer

Journey to St. John's: finalists for the 2016 Challenge Trophy

Posted on 24 September 2016 in ↳ Challenge Trophy

On the journey to St. John's, more than 100 men's teams have competed for a spot at the 2016 Sport Chek National Championships. The Challenge Trophy finals will be played 5-10 October, with matches to be played at King George V Park, Topsail Field, Mount Pearl Soccer Complex, Paradise Field, and Feildians Grounds.

The 12 finalists have been divided into four groups of three teams. Each team will play two matches in three days, with two teams advancing to the competition's quarter-finals on 8 October. From there, the top teams will play down to the final match on 10 October at King George V Park in St. John's (12.00 noon local / 10.30 ET / 07.30 PT).

Group A: Ottawa Gloucester Celtic, Charlottetown PEI FC, FC Winnipeg Lions
Group B: Edmonton Scottish, Western Halifax FC, Fredericton Picaroons Reds
Group C: Surrey Pegasus FC, Royal-Sélect Beauport, Mount Pearl
Group D: Saskatoon HUSA Alumni, Edmonton Green & Gold, St. Lawrence Laurentians

Visit the Sport Chek National Championships on

Group A

Charlottetown PEI FC

FC Winnipeg Lions

  • 2016 Manitoba Cup winners coached by Tony Nocita
  • Qualified 26 August after a 2:2 a.e.t. draw / 4-2 win on kicks over Winnipeg Hellas SC
  • 9-time Manitoba Cup provincial winners (1995, 1996, 1998, 2002, 2007, 2012-2014, 2016)
  • Challenge Trophy national champions at St. John's 2002 (as Winnipeg Sons of Italy)

Ottawa Gloucester Celtic

Group B

Edmonton Scottish SC

  • 2016 Alberta Cup winners coached by Kevin Poissant
  • Qualified 4 September after advancing to provincial final
  • 7-time Alberta provincial winners since 1984 (1987, 1992, 1996, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016)
  • Previous best result was 2nd place at Burnaby 1992, Winnipeg 2012, and Calgary 2015

Fredericton Picaroons Reds

  • 2016 New Brunswick provincial winners coached by Dave Rouse
  • Qualified 13 August after a 1:1 draw / 4-3 wins on kicks over Moncton Codiac
  • 6-time New Brunswick provincial winners (2007, 2011, 2012, 2014-2016)
  • Previous best result was 6th place at Halifax 2007

Western Halifax FC

Group C

Mount Pearl SC

  • 2016 Newfoundland Labrador runners up coached by Andrew Murphy
  • Qualified 3 September after advancing to provincial final
  • 1-time Newfoundland Labrador provincial winners (2003)
  • Previous best result was 10th place at Québec 2003

Royal-Sélect Beauport

Surrey Pegasus FC

  • 2016 BC Cup provincial winners coached by Paul Bahia
  • Qualified 14 May after 2:1 win over Coquitlam Metro-Ford SC
  • 3-time British Columbia provincial winners (2004, 2011, 2016)
  • Challenge Trophy national champions at Charlottetown 2004

Group D

Edmonton Green & Gold

  • 2016 Alberta Cup runners up coached by Martin Andersen
  • Qualified 4 September after advancing to provincial final
  • 2-time Alberta provincial winners (2005, 2011)
  • Previous best result was 2nd place at Calgary 2005

Saskatoon HUSA Alumni

St. Lawrence Laurentians

  • 2016 Newfoundland Labrador provincial winners coached by Derek Strang
  • Qualified 2 September after advancing to provincial final
  • 29-time Newfoundland Labrador provincial winners since 1951
  • Previous best result was 2nd place at Calgary 1975, St. Lawrence 1977, and St. John's 2002


Sport Chek National Championships

Canada Soccer’s Sport Chek National Championships have served as our nation’s premier amateur competition for more than 100 years, with the men’s competition inaugurated in 1913 and the women’s competition inaugurated in 1982. At all age levels, the Sport Check National Championships provide a meaningful soccer experience for host cities and participating teams, as well as the players, coaches, support staff, officials, and volunteers. These competitions are complimented by both the Futsal Canadian Championship (since 2015) and the Amway Canadian Championship featuring Canada’s professional clubs (since 2008).


Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer