Canada Soccer

Hosts Alberta lead the way on Teck Finals Day in Edmonton

Posted on 14 October 2019 in ↳ U-15 Cup

Host Alberta teams Calgary Foothills WFC and St. Albert Impact won the Boys’ U-15 Cup and Girls’ U-15 Cup respectively at the 2019 Toyota National Championships in Edmonton, AB. Foothills girls defeated Quebec’s AS Brossard 4:2 in the Gold Medal Match on Teck Finals Day with St. Albert holding off Foothills boys in a 2:1 battle of Alberta in the Boys’ Gold Medal Match. Quebec’s CS St Laurent boys and BCs Surrey United girls secured third place respectively.

Girls’ U-15 Cup Final Standings

  1. Calgary Foothills WFC
  2. AS Brossard
  3. Surrey United SC
  4. CS Dieppe
  5. Edmonton Mill Woods Selects FC
  6. Oshawa Kicks
  7. Conception Bay South
  8. Winnipeg Bonivital SC
  9. PEI FC
  10. Suburban FC
  11. FC Regina Bluestars
  12. Yellowknife Bay SC

Gold: Calgary Foothills WFC (AB) 4:2 (QC) AS Brossard

Rebecca Grisdale (1’) and Kiera Mcculloch (5’, 68’) opened the scoring early in the first half for Calgary Foothills before Melia Descary (24’) and Ève Lafontaine (27’) pulled them back for AS Brossard sending the teams into halftime tied at two. A second from Mcculloch, and a late insurance goal from Dezirae Funfer (70’) gave hosts Alberta the Girls’ U-15 Cup Championship at the 2019 Toyota National Championships in Edmonton.

Bronze: Surrey United SC (BC) 1:0 (NB) CS Dieppe

Surrey United’s Hannah Bains (23’) first-half goal was enough for British Columbia as they defeated New Brunswick to take the Girls’ U-15 Cup Bronze Medal. Yasmine Pahal earned the shutout in the medal-winning effort for BC.

Fifth Place: Edmonton Mill Woods Selects FC (AB) 2:2 (3:4 PKs) (ON) Oshawa Kicks

Mackenzie Scott (3’) opened the scoring for Ontario in a busy first half that saw Alberta pull two goals back and head into halftime up 2:1 through Danielle Rooker (22’) and Alout Agar (24’). Indya Bricknell (38’) scored early in the second half to send the match to penalty kicks where Ontario edged Alberta 4:3 from the spot for fifth place.

Seventh Place: Conception Bay South (NL) 1:2 (MB) Winnipeg Bonivital SC

Winnipeg’s Susana Moreira (22’) and Lilly Merz (58’) scored in a winning effort for Bonivital. Lauren Rowe (70’) pull a late goal back for Newfoundland & Labrador who finish eighth.

Consolation Round
PEI FC (PE) 3:0 (SK) FC Regina Bluestars

A 3:0 victory over Saskatchewan earned PEI FC top spot in the consolation round on Teck Finals Day. Olivia Devine (10’), Alice Dorsey (16’) and Gracie McQuaid (57’) scored for PEI while Alayna Trenholm earned the shutout.

Suburban FC (NS) 7:0 (NT) Yellowknife Bay SC

Mallory Murphy (18’), Charlotte Brinston-Conway (21’), Sophia Zykova (32’), Emma Burton (35’), Isabel Gonsalves (46’), Maeve Williams (55’), and Emma Crowe (70’) all scored for Suburban, while Emily Maclean got the clean sheet. Nova Scotia finish in tenth place.

Boys’ U-15 Cup Final Standings

  1. St. Albert Impact
  2. Calgary Foothills FC
  3. CS St-Laurent
  4. Winnipeg Bonivital SC
  5. Milton Magic
  6. Vancouver Island Wave
  7. Feildians AA St. John’s
  8. PEI FC
  9. Saskatoon Lakewood Deportivo
  10. Moncton Codiac SC
  11. Halifax County United SC
  12. Yellowknife Bay SC

Gold: Calgary Foothills FC (AB1) 1:2 (AB2) St Albert Impact

The battle of Alberta saw St. Albert Impact take a first-half lead into halftime after Armaan Natt (15’) opened the scoring. Foothills’ Matteo Samori (52’) tied the final at 1 setting up a tight finish. However, Felix Mutuyemungu’s (57’) late goal sealed the victory and the U-15 Cup title for St Albert Impact.

Bronze: Winnipeg Bonivital SC (MB) 0:4 (QC) CS St-Laurent

Quebec’s Franck Loic Goufo Zoumessi (7’), Thomas Khairy (22’), Junior Anthony Kwekam Wega (23’), and Nazim Bouzaza (35’) scored and Shoumeng Tian secured the cleansheet to earn the Bronze Medal for CS S Laurent.

Fifth Place: Milton Magic (ON) 4:1 (BC) Vancouver Island Wave

Ontario’s Danny Medeiros (33’), Marcus Riviere (45’, 70’) and Cristian Alfieri (56’) scored for Milton who finished in fifth place with the win. Rio Schafer (67’) scored in a losing effort for British Columbia.

Seventh Place: PEI FC (PE) 2:2 (1:3 PKs) (NL) Feildians AA St. John’s

PEI’s Ben Hasimoto (10’) and Tony Nguyen (24’) scored for PEI FC and Nick Jones (15’) and Reggie Pike (43’) for Newfoundland & Labrador to send the seventh-place match to penalty kicks which Feildians won 3:1 to earn seventh.

Consolation Round
Saskatoon Lakewood Deportivo (SK) 4:0 (NS) Halifax County United SC

John Batist Fimbo (22’) Sommy Okwosha (29’), Joshua Malin (31’), and Sam Whitenect (51’) scored for Saskatchewan and Emmett Mcgillivray got the shutout as Lakewood win the consolation round to finish in ninth place.

Moncton Codiac SC (NB) 1:0 (NT) Yellowknife Bay SC

A first-half goal from Hunter Delahunt (9’) was enough for New Brunswick as Moncton Codiac closed out their U-15 Cup with a win. Branden Robichaud secured the clean sheet for Codiac who finish tenth.


Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer