Canada Soccer

Holy Cross women clinch spot at St. John's 2016

Posted on 29 July 2016 in ↳ Jubilee Trophy

Holy Cross women have clinched a spot in the 2016 Sport Chek National Championships Jubilee Trophy competition. The regular season winners will be one of two Newfoundland Labrador teams at this year's national competition in St. John's from 5-10 October.

Holy Cross locked up first place in their league on Thursday 28 July, guaranteed to finish first ahead of Kirby United and Feildians. The second- and third-place teams will meet in the provincial semi finals on 18 August, with the winner qualifying for the provincial final as well as the Sport Chek National Championships. The Newfoundland Labrador provincial final on 20 August will determine the seeding and schedule for both teams at the national Jubilee Trophy competition (either NL1 or NL2).

In 2016, Holy Cross Crusaders' title-winning lineup has featured Alyssa Armstrong, Anna AuCoin, Emily Bailey, Jennifer Bent, Kaelyn Burke, Jennifer Burry, Jamie Crocker, Julie Crocker, Chelsea Currie, Lindsey Garland, Rebecca Green, Erika Lannon, Connie Lewis, Maria Mackey, Teri Murphy, Jessie Noseworthy, Melissa Reid, Hannah Rivkin, Claire Skanes, Noelle Stanford, Michelle Ward, Laura Whelan, Paula Whitten, Spencer Wilkins, and Keisha Young. The head coach is Noel "Jake" Stanford.

Canada Soccer’s Sport Chek National Championships have served as our nation’s premier amateur competition for more than 100 years, with the men’s competition inaugurated in 1913 and the women’s competition inaugurated in 1982. At all age levels, the Sport Check National Championships provide a meaningful soccer experience for host cities and participating teams, as well as the players, coaches, support staff, officials, and volunteers. These competitions are complimented by both the Futsal Canadian Championship (since 2015) and the Amway Canadian Championship featuring Canada’s professional clubs (since 2008).

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer