Canada Soccer

De Rosario wins George Gross Memorial Trophy

Posted on 2 June 2010 in Canadian Championship

Toronto FC's Dwayne De Rosario has won his second consecutive George Gross Memorial Trophy after being selected most valuable player of the 2010 Nutrilite Canadian Championship. De Rosario won the award after leading Toronto FC to the 2010 Voyageurs Cup, helping Toronto FC clinch a spot in 2010-11 CONCACAF Champions League.

De Rosario was key in getting Toronto FC off on the right foot in the 2010 championship, helping Toronto FC win the championship opener 2:0 over the Impact Montréal. He won Man of the Match honours and recorded an assist on the second goal of the game, scored by striker Chad Barrett. De Rosario was also indirectly involved in the opening goal as he and Ty Harden seemingly struck the ball at the same time, before the goal was eventually awarded to Harden.

Two weeks later on Match Day 3 in Montréal, De Rosario was again at the heart of the attack as Toronto FC won 1:0 over the Impact. This time, De Rosario was the lone goal scorer as he again won Man of the Match honours.

Finally on Match Day 4 in Vancouver, De Rosario won his third straight Man of the Match prize as Toronto FC held Vancouver Whitecaps FC to a 0:0 draw. As the standings would prove just one week later, Toronto FC's single point that night would be instrumental in securing Toronto FC's second straight national title.

The George Gross Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the Nutrilite Canadian Championship's most valuable player. Two years ago, Impact goalkeeper Matt Jordan won the prize as Montréal won the 2008 championship. Then last year, it was De Rosario winning MVP honours after scoring a hat trick in the final match of the 2009 championship.

Mr. George Gross had a prestigious career as a sports writer in Toronto, writing for the Toronto Telegram, the Soccer and Sport News (as publisher) and Toronto Sun (as founding sports editor). He served as one of the founders of the Eastern Professional Soccer League and also general manager of Toronto City Soccer Club in the early 1960s. In recognition of his years of service to sport, he was inducted to Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 2005 and to The Soccer Hall of Fame in 2006. He passed away on 21 March 2008 at age 85.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer