Canada Soccer

CS Mont-Royal Outremont win LSEQ women's playoff championship

Posted on 17 September 2017 in ↳ Jubilee Trophy

CS Mont-Royal Outremont won 3:1 over the defending national champions to clinch the 2017 LSEQ women's playoff championship and qualify for the Toyota National Championships Jubilee Trophy finals. Mont-Royal finished first in their division during the regular season and then first in the four-team league playoffs ahead of Royal-Sélect Beauport, the 2016 Jubilee Trophy winners who just last week won their sixth provincial championship in the Coupe du Québec.

In the playoffs across three matches, CS Mont-Royal Outremont won 2:1 over AS Varennes on 2 September, drew 1:1 with AS Blainville on 4 September, and then won 3:1 over Royal-Sélect Beauport on 16 September. CS Mont-Royal Outremont finished the series with seven points, one better than second-place Beauport who had back-to-back wins against Blainville and Varennes in early September.

"We are very proud of the girls and this is a first for our club," said Lyonel Joseph, head coach of CS Mont-Royal Outremont. "We won against a very good team who have been national champions."

Laurence Martel opened the scoring in the 12th minute before Beauport's Annabelle Cloutier equalised in the 44th minute. In the second half, Joanie L'Abbé gave Mont-Royal the lead on a penalty in the 60th minute before Martel scored her second of the game in the 75th minute.

Joseph said that scoring the first goal gave his team confidence after which the players believed this could be their turn to win the Québec laurels. The team persevered and were impeccable in defence as they qualified for the Jubilee Trophy finals for the first time in club history.

In the playoff finale, CS Mont-Royal Outremont's starting XI featured Léa Palacio-Tellier in goal, Alyssa Ruscio at right back, Marie-Michèle Brûlé and Sophie Thérien at centre back, Joanie L'Abbé at left back, Noémie Demers-Bouchard, Kaitlyn Fournier, Eve L'Abbé, Virginie Labossière, and Laurence Martel at midfield, and Geneviève Harnois up front.Holly Desiree Corcoran, Anik Levert, Karolanne Montpellier, Mathilde Palacio-Tellier, and Laurie Thibault were substitutes while Zohra Bendouah, Catherine Cloutier, Frédérique Labelle, and Béatrice Toupin were unavailable through injury.

While the club CS Mont-Royal Outremont will make their debut at the 2017 Toyota National Championships from 4-9 October in Surrey, British Columbia, coach Lyonel Joseph will make his return after 31 years. In both 1985 and 1986, coach Joseph led Dorval United to back-to-back third-place finishes at the Jubilee Trophy finals. 

Canada Soccer’s Toyota National Championships serves as our nation’s premier amateur competition, with the 2017 edition featuring close to 600 clubs from across the country competing for a spot at one of three locations: the men’s Challenge Trophy and women’s Jubilee Trophy finals in Surrey, British Columbia; the boys and girls U-17 Cup finals in Fredericton, New Brunswick; and the boys and girls U-15 Cup finals in Calgary, Alberta. The Toyota National Championships provide a meaningful soccer experience for host cities and participating teams, as well as the players, coaches, support staff, officials, and volunteers. These competitions are complimented by both the Futsal Canadian Championship and the Canadian Championship featuring Canada’s professional clubs.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer