Canada Soccer

Connaught Series: Vancouver Johnston National Storage win national title

Posted on 23 July 2017 in Around the Soccer World

In 1937, Vancouver Johnston National Storage won the title over Toronto Ulster United FC. The easterners won the first match, but then Vancouver won the next two. Opponents James “Swede” Larson and George Graham finished with six goals each (across all rounds), but Larson was the hero with two goals in the final match.

Like Verdun Park FC three years earlier, Vancouver JNS folded after winning the 1937 Championship. Players quickly joined other teams for the new season, with notably Trevor Harvey, Larson, and Reg Liptrot all joining North Shore United FC for the 1937-38 season.

Vancouver Johnston National Storage won the 1937 Dominion of Canada Football Championship, winning six of eight matches across three rounds. The Vancouver club eliminated Edmonton Civics and Winnipeg United Weston FC before beating famed Toronto Ulster United FC in the Championship final.

Toronto were recent repeat champions from the National League, but they had gone 12 years since their last Dominion title in 1925.
Vancouver remained unfazed. After losing the first match, Vancouver struck back to win the second match. Then down 2-1 in the third match, they came from behind to win the finale and clinch the title.

Nearly all of Vancouver’s lineup was new to the playdowns, with only Hugh Greer (1934 quarters) and Trevor Harvey (1936 winner) boasting experience. After this one and only win, the JNS club disbanded after the Championship.

Vancouver’s James “Swede” Larson scored both the equaliser and the winner in the final match of the 1937 Championship. He equalised in the first half and then scored the winner in the second half of the 3:2 win over Toronto.

Toronto Ulster United’s 35-year old centre forward George Graham scored six goals and five assists in eight matches during the 1937 Championship. Vancouver’s James Larson also scored six goals.

John Easton of Winnipeg, past president of the Dominion of Canada Football Association, made the presentation of the Challenge Trophy to Jim Lawrie, captain of the winning team.

In celebration of our nation's 150th anniversary, the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame pays tribute to the early years of our Championship: the Connaught Series from 1913 to 1939. Every Sunday from May through September, Canada Soccer remembers the players, legends, teams, and champions from a golden era of football in the Dominion.

‎In Canada's 150th year, Canada Soccer will crown their 150th national champions across all adult and professional competitions since 1913. The 2017 competitive season will crown the Futsal Canadian Championship winners in April, the professional Canadian Championship winners in June, and the amateur National Championships women's Jubilee Trophy and men's Challenge Trophy winners in October.




Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer