Canada Soccer

Canada to host CONCACAF Gold Cup games for the first time

Posted on 16 December 2014 in CONCACAF

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the 13 North American cities – Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia, Phoenix, and Toronto – that will welcome the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup, next 7-26 July.
The region’s marquee national team tournament will again call on world-class venues for next year’s edition, including a mix of NFL stadiums across the country, along with soccer-specific stadiums home to Major League Soccer teams, namely BMO Field in Toronto, ON.

“We would like to thank all cities and venues across the United States – and in fact North America as a whole --for their continued interest in our Confederation’s marquee event, the Gold Cup. We congratulate those which have been selected to host the 2015 edition,” said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb. “The explosive growth of the game across CONCACAF has been on display recently on the world’s stage, and we now look forward to bringing this success home to our regional fans during our premier tournament.”

Toronto’s BMO Field is one of two 2014 venues that will host Gold Cup games for the first time. The matches in Canada will mark the first time the Confederation’s flagship national team event has visited Canadian soil.

Canada’s first soccer-specific stadium, BMO Field is located at Exhibition Place in Toronto and plays home to Canada’s National Soccer Team, as well as Toronto FC, Canada’s first Major League Soccer team. In its inaugural summer, BMO Field hosted over 260,000 fans during 12 games as the main venue for the FIFA U-20 World Cup. Since 2007, BMO Field has welcomed over three million fans and has hosted a multitude of events, including the 2010 MLS Cup. This past summer, BMO Field hosted a number of matches as part of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014.

“Today marks another great step in Canada’s development to become a leading soccer nation and we would like to thank CONCACAF for the opportunity to have such a marquee event played on Canadian soil,” said Victor Montagliani, Canada Soccer President and CONCACAF ExCo Member. “Canadian soccer fans have always taken great pride in showing their support for Canada during this key tournament, traveling across the region to represent our country, and it is with great honour that we worked with CONCACAF to bring the beautiful game closer to them for the 2015 edition. We now hope that they will be rewarded with seeing Canada play its final group match in Toronto this summer!”

For fans interested in being part of an exclusive presale offering for the Gold Cup doubleheader at BMO Field, please visit

The dates for Gold Cup matches scheduled for each group stage city were also announced, as well as the seeded nations which will head up each group: the United States (Group A), Costa Rica (Group B), and Mexico (Group C). Seeded teams were determined based on current FIFA rankings.

The United States will kick off the 2015 Gold Cup in Dallas’ Toyota Stadium on 7 July, before moving on along with the rest of Group A to Boston (Gillette Stadium, 10 July) and Kansas City (Sporting Park, 13 July).

Costa Rica, the seeded team in Group B, begins play in Carson, CA (StubHub Center, 8 July), then moves on to Houston’s BBVA Compass Stadium (11 July) and Toronto’s BMO Field (14 July).

Mexico will anchor Group C and play in Chicago (Soldier Field) on 9 July, Phoenix (University of Phoenix Stadium, 12 July) and Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium on 15 July.

The Georgia Dome (Atlanta, GA), Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, PA), M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore, MD) and MetLife Stadium (East Rutherford, NJ) will all host knockout round dates. Complete groups and schedule, including selection of dates and matches for the knockout round and the awarding of the Final, will be announced in early 2015.

To date, eleven of the twelve national teams scheduled to participate have qualified for next year’s tournament. Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago and the United States, in alphabetical order, will compete for the Confederation Crown in July.

The final spot will be decided in March of next year through a play-in series between the fifth-place finisher of the 2014 UNCAF Copa Centroamericana (Honduras) and the 2014 Caribbean Football Union Caribbean Cup (French Guyana). French Guyana will be home team for the first leg on 25 March, while Honduras will host the return leg on 29 March.

Taking place every two years, the Gold Cup is the official national team championship of the region, routinely drawing capacity crowds and millions of television viewers across the region. Featuring the highest-level players from across the confederation, the tournament includes the three previous Gold Cup champions – Canada (1 Gold Cup), Mexico (6), and the USA (5) – as well as the top finishers from the most recent Central American and Caribbean championship tournaments.

2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Host Cities & Venues

Group Round
July 7 (Group A) - Dallas – Toyota Stadium (Frisco, TX)
July 8 (Group B) - Los Angeles – StubHub Center (Carson, CA)
July 9 (Group C) - Chicago – Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)
July 10 (Group A) - Boston – Gillette Stadium (Foxborough, MA)
July 11 (Group B) - Houston – BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)
July 12 (Group C) - Phoenix – University of Phoenix Stadium (Phoenix, AZ)
July 13 (Group A) - Kansas City – Sporting Park (Kansas City, KS)
July 14 (Group B) - Toronto – BMO Field (Toronto, ON)
July 15 (Group C) - Charlotte – Bank of America Stadium (Charlotte, NC)

Knockout Round Venues (alphabetical order by city)
Georgia Dome (Atlanta, GA)
M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore, MD)
MetLife Stadium (East Rutherford, NJ)
Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, PA)

2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Qualified Teams

  1. Canada (Automatic Qualifier)
  2. Mexico (Automatic Qualifier)
  3. United States (Automatic Qualifier)
  4. Costa Rica (Winner – 2014 Copa Centroamericana UNCAF)
  5. Guatemala (Runner-up – 2014 Copa Centroamericana UNCAF)
  6. Panama (Third Place – 2014 Copa Centroamericana UNCAF)
  7. El Salvador (Fourth Place – 2014 Copa Centroamericana UNCAF)
  8. Jamaica (Winner – 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup)
  9. Trinidad & Tobago (Runner-Up – 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup)
  10. Haiti (Third Place – 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup)
  11. Cuba (Fourth Place – 2014 CFU Caribbean Cup)
  12. French Guyana or Honduras (CFU/UNCAF Play-in Winner)


Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer