Canada Soccer

Canada Soccer celebrates annual award winners

Posted on 3 May 2017 in Awards & Recognition

Canada Soccer has paid tribute to some key individuals who have helped the game grow both at home and abroad. This year's winners are Alan Churchard for the President's Award, Roger Barnes for the Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award, and Carol Anne Chénard for the Ray Morgan Memorial Award.

Referees Daniel Belleau, Philippe Brière, Marie-Josée Charbonneau, Dave Gantar, Suzanne Morisset, and Michelle Pye have been acknowledged with the International Achievement Award. Along with the award winners, Dino Madonis was presented with Canada Soccer Life Membership.

The 2017 annual player awards - the Canadian Players of the Year, the Canadian U-20 Players of the Year, the Canadian U-17 Players of the Year, and the Canadian Para Soccer Player of the Year - will be celebrated in December.

Also as part of the evening, Canada Soccer paid tribute to their outgoing President Victor Montagliani, who helped lead the sport in Canada to new incredible heights over the past five years. Canada Soccer wishes Mr. Montagliani all the very best as he brings his "dream big dreams" manifesto to his role as the President CONCACAF and Vice-President for FIFA.

President's Award

Mr. Alan Churchard celebrates 50 years in Canada this year, having moved from England in 1967. He coached in Ontario and then British Columbia, serving as BC Soccer's technical director from 1982 to 2000. In 1976, he coached Canada Soccer's Men's National U-19 Team at the CONCACAF Men's Youth Championship in Puerto Rico. From a young squad, three of his players went on to have a major impact in Canadian soccer, with Ian Bridge, Dale Mitchell and Randy Ragan all CONCACAF champions in 1985, FIFA World Cup finalists in 1986, and eventually honoured members of the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame. He served as Chair of Canada Soccer's Coaches Committee and became a BC Soccer Life Member in 2008. He then served as an assistant coach in Canada Soccer's Para Soccer program from 2011 to 2015, attending the 2011 CP-ISRA World Championship.


Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award

Mr. Roger Barnes is a long-time administrator in British Columbia, most recently serving as President of BC Soccer from 2012 to 2016. Before becoming a BC Soccer director in 2010, he served as chair of Richmond YSA starting in 2004. He was also director of the Richmond Olympic Oval Corporation from 2008 to 2011. In his community, he was awarded the Mayor's Award for sport in 2006.

Ray Morgan Memorial Award

Ms. Carol Anne Chénard has served on the FIFA List of Referees since 2006, making her one of Canada Soccer's most experienced officials at the international stage. She is just the second two-time winner of the Ray Morgan Memorial Award, having previously won the honour in 2009. Over the years, Chénard has been appointed a referee to just about every major competition at the professional, national and international level. At the international level, she has been appointed to two editions of the FIFA Women's World Cup finals and three editions of the Women's Olympic Football Tournament.

Canada Soccer International Achievement Award

Six referees have been recognised with the International Achievement Award for having served five consecutive years on the FIFA List of Referees. Daniel Belleau, Philippe Brière, Dave Gantar, and Michelle Pye are all still active on the FIFA List while Marie-Josée Charbonneau and Suzanne Morisset are both recently retired from the international list. All six referees have been worthy ambassadors of their provinces and Canada Soccer in both the domestic and international football.

Canada Soccer Life Member

Mr. Dino Madonis has been part of the Canada Soccer community for more than 50 years. He was a player and then coach in Montréal, most notably leading the strong CS Hermes club from 1971 to 1981. He was then a director and president with ARS Montréal-Concordia. He served as President of the Fédération du soccer du Québec from 1994 to 2003 and then again from 2006 to 2011, equally serving as a board member with Canada Soccer. In 2003, he was awarded Le Maurice from Sports Québec for his work as a volunteer at the national level. Both a Canada Soccer Award of Merit winner (2003) and Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award winner (2004), he was inducted into the Québec Soccer Hall of Fame in 2003 and received the FSQ centenary medal in 2011.



Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer