Canada Soccer

Canada Soccer announces 2020 NWSL allocations

Posted on 24 February 2020 in Women's National Team / Olympic Team

Canada Soccer has announced that nine Canadian Women’s National Team players were allocated to the National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) for the 2020 season.

“Canada Soccer is pleased to continue its investment to support members of our Women’s National Team as allocated players with the National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) for the eighth consecutive year,” said Peter Montopoli, General Secretary, Canada Soccer. “The NWSL continues to provide a highly competitive environment for our players in one of the best leagues in the world.”

The NWSL is a nine-team Division-I women’s professional soccer league featuring national team players from around the world, with Canadian and U.S. National Team players allocated by Canada Soccer and US Soccer.

“The partnership between Canada Soccer, US Soccer and the NWSL is an unique and valuable relationship that is contributing to the growth of the women’s game in North America in one of the most challenging leagues globally that features world class players,” added Montopoli.

The following Canadian Women’s National Team players have been allocated by Canada Soccer to the NWSL for the 2020 season:

GK Stephanie Labbé, age 33, from Edmonton, AB / NC Courage
GK Kailen Sheridan, age 24, from Whitby, ON/Sky Blue FC
FB Allysha Chapman, age 31, from Courtice, ON/ Houston Dash
CB Shelina Zadorsky, age 27, from London, ON/ Orlando Pride
M Sophie Schmidt, age 31, from Abbotsford, BC / Houston Dash
M Diana Matheson, age 35, from Oakville, ON/Utah Royals FC
M Desiree Scott, age 32, from Winnipeg, MB/ Utah Royals FC
F Nichelle Prince, age 25, from Ajax, ON/ Houston Dash
F Christine Sinclair, age 36, from Burnaby, BC/ Portland Thorns

The nine teams competing in the 2020 NWSL season are the Chicago Red Stars. Houston Dash, North Carolina Courage, Orlando Pride, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Utah Royals FC and Washington Spirit.

For more information about the NWSL, log on to the league's official website at

Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team
Canada are two-time Olympic bronze medal winners (2012 and 2016) and two-time Concacaf champions (1998 and 2010). In all, Canada have participated in seven consecutive editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ (1995 to 2019) and three consecutive editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament (2008 to 2016). At Rio 2016, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team were the first Canadian Olympic team to win back-to-back medals at a summer Olympic Games in more than a century.


Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Youth Teams, meanwhile, have won four Concacaf youth titles: the 2004 and 2008 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, the 2010 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship, and the 2014 Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship. Canada have qualified for seven editions of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (including a silver medal at Canada 2002) and all six editions of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (including a fourth-place finish at Uruguay 2018).

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer