Canada Soccer

Canada’s Women’s National Team release Natal 2015 Roster and schedule change

Posted on 7 December 2015 in Women's National Team / Olympic Team

Diana Matheson guides teenager Gabrielle Carle during the first women's national team practice in Natal ahead of its match against Mexico

Canada’s Women’s National Team has arrived in Natal, Brazil and will take the pitch for the international tournament starting December 9th.

Croatia has withdrawn from the tournament and has been replaced by Trinidad and Tobago, giving Canada a chance to get a firsthand look at one of the teams they will be playing in the 2016 CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualifying Championship taking place in Texas starting 11 February 2016.

Head Coach John Herdman has released the roster for the team competing in Natal. Of the 21 players selected for the Natal 2015 roster, four players accepted their first invitation to Canada's national "A" squad: teenagers Gabrielle Carle (17), Kennedy Faulknor (16), Marie Levasseur (18), and Deanne Rose (16).

In selecting the following players, Coach Herdman has brought together a blend of youth and experience, as he builds his team for the Olympic qualification period.

CANADA (inc. position and current club):

GK- Stephanie Labbé | CAN /
GK- Erin McLeod | USA / Houston Dash
CB- Shelina Zadorsky | SWE / Vittsjö GIK
FB- Allysha Chapman | USA / Houston Dash
FB- Kennedy Faulknor | CAN / Unionville Milliken SC
FB- Rhian Wilkinson | USA / Portland Thorns FC
FB- Rebecca Quinn | USA / Duke University
FB- Kadeisha Buchanan | USA / West Virginia U.
FB- Marie-Eve Nault |SWE / KIF Örebro
FB- Josée Belanger |SWE / FC Rosengård
M- Diana Matheson | USA / Washington Spirit
M- Deanne Rose | CAN / Scarborough GS United
M- Desiree Scott | ENG / Nott County Ladies
M- Ashley Lawrence | USA / West Virginia Univ.
M- Jessie Fleming | CAN
F- Gabrielle Carle | CAN / Dynamo de Québec
F- Marie Levasseur | USA / University of Memphis
F- Christine Sinclair © | USA / Portland Thorns FC
F- Melissa Tancredi | USA / Chicago Red Stars
F- Janine Beckie | USA / Texas Tech
F- Nichelle Prince | USA / Ohio State University

The revised schedule for Canadian matches at the International Tournament of Natal 2015:

  • Wednesday 9 December 2015: Canada v Mexico at 18.15 local (16.15 ET / 13.15 PT)
  • Sunday 13 December 2015: Trinidad and Tobago v Canada at 18.30 local (16.30 ET / 13.30 PT)
  • Wednesday 16th December 2015: Brazil v Canada at 20.45 local (18.45 ET / 15.45 PT)
  • Sunday 20 December 2015:
    • Third place match at 16.00 local (14.00 ET / 11.00 PT)
    • Final Match at 18.30 local (16.30 ET / 13.30 PT)

Media seeking interviews may contact: Carrie Croft at ccroft@canadasoccer.com.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer