Canada Soccer

Canada reaches CONCACAF Futsal Championship

Posted on 6 May 2016 in Futsal Team

Canada has eliminated USA in a two-match play-in series to advance to the eight-nation 2016 CONCACAF Futsal Championship in Costa Rica. Canada won the ‎series 9-7, drawing 4:4 on Wednesday and winning 5:3 on Thursday.

Canada now joins Group B alongside Cuba, Curaçao, and host Costa Rica. Canada will open against the hosts on 8 May at the BN Arena in San José. Canada then faces Curaçao on 9 May and Cuba on 10 May, with the top-two nations from the group qualifying for the FIFA Futsal World Cup Colombia 2016.

In the opening leg against USA on 4 May, Canada's goal scorers were Ian Bennett, Matias Dimarco, Nazim Belguendouz, and Jacob Orellana. In the second match on 5 May, a Robert Renaud hat trick was complimented with goals by Bennett and Belguendouz. Goalkeeper Josh Lemos came up big in the second leg, including a second-half save on a penalty.

Futsal is a unique, fast-paced indoor sport played across Canada and around the world. Canada Soccer is committed to the growth and promotion of the game. At the elite club level, Canada Soccer supports domestic competition through the annual Futsal Canadian Championship. Canada Soccer also supports playing opportunities provided by the National Futsal Team in international competitions including the FIFA Futsal World Cup.


20160505_canFutsal_byMexsport01


CONCACAF Futsal Championship
Group B
8 May (20.00 local / 22.00 ET / 19.00 PT) Costa Rica v Canada
9 May (19.30 local / 21.30 ET / 18.30 PT) Canada v Curaçao
10 May (19.30 local / 21.30 ET / 18.30 PT) Cuba v Canada

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer