Canada Soccer

Canada announces roster for Greece friendly

Posted on 3 February 2011 in Men's National Team

Canada has announced an 18-player roster for the upcoming Men’s International Friendly match in Larissa, Greece. Coach Hart and his team will meet this coming week to face former European champion Greece at the A.E.L FC Arena. The match will be played Wednesday 9 February, the first date of the 2011 season on the FIFA international schedule.

The Canada-Greece match will feature the debut of the new Canada Umbro kit. The Canadian match will be broadcast on Wednesday 9 February at 10.00 ET / 07.00 PT (17.00 local kick off in Larissa, Greece). Fans will also be able to follow the match live on

Coach Hart’s selection features one debut: goalkeeper Milan Borjan. The 23-year old goalkeeper of Hamilton, ON plays professional soccer for FK Rad in Serbia. Borjan and Edmonton’s Lars Hirschfeld (32 appearances for Canada) are the two goalkeepers selected for this camp. Hirschfeld plays his professional soccer for Vålerenga Fotball in Norway.

Two other players have yet to make their first appearance for Canada, although they have both taken part in previous men’s national camps. Midfielder Tosaint Ricketts took part in his first camp in 2009 in Larnaka, Cyprus. Defender David Edgar, meanwhile, has taken part in several camps dating back to 2007. Both Ricketts and Edgar are 23 years old.

Borjan, Ricketts, Edgar, Jaime Peters, Simeon Jackson and Will Johnson are all 1987-born players. Five of those six players (all but Borjan) represented Canada at the FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007. One other player in the camp is younger: 20-year older defender Adam Straith.

As for experience, Hirschfeld, Dwayne De Rosario, Kevin McKenna and Rob Friend are all amongst the senior players in the camp. De Rosario is the leader with 55 appearances, while 27-year old midfielder Atiba Hutchinson is second with 50 appearances. Hutchinson, the 2010 Canadian Player of the Year, scored a goal and an assist in Canada’s last international friendly match on 8 October 2010 (a 2:2 draw with Ukraine).

Fifteen of Canada’s 18 players play professional soccer in Europe. De Rosario (Toronto FC), Johnson (Real Salt Lake) and Dejan Jakovic (D.C. United) play in Major League Soccer. De Rosario is a two-time national champion in the Nutrilite Canadian Championship.

As for extended coverage before the Canada-Greece kickoff on 9 February, Canadian supporters can tune-in early at 09.30 ET / 06.30 PT on Sportsnet ONE. The Sportsnet team will feature a special 30-minute season preview show prior to the start of the match. Also of note, the match will be replayed on Sportsnet Ontario (20.00 ET), Sportsnet West (23.30 MT) and Sportsnet Pacific (23.30 PT).

1- GK- Lars Hirschfeld | NOR / Vålerenga Fotball
2- D- Jaime Peters | ENG / Ipswich Town FC
3- M- Marcel de Jong | GER / FC Augsburg
4- D- Dejan Jakovic | USA / DC United
5- D- Kevin McKenna | GER / FC Köln
6- M- Nik Ledgerwood | GER / SV Wehen Wiesbaden
7- M- Pedro Pacheco | POR / CD Santa Clara
8- M- Will Johnson | USA / Real Salt Lake
9- F- Rob Friend | GER / Hertha BSC
10- F- Simeon Jackson | ENG / Norwich City FC
11- D- David Edgar | ENG / Burnley FC
12- D- Adam Straith | GER / FC Energie Cottbus
13- M- Atiba Hutchinson | NED / PSV Eindhoven
14- M- Dwayne De Rosario | CAN / Toronto FC
15- M- Josh Simpson | TUR / Vestel Manisaspor
16- M- Tosaint Ricketts | FC Politehnica Timiþoara
17- F- Olivier Occean | GER / Kickers Offenbach
22- GK- Milan Borjan | SRB / FK Rad

Borjan, Milan | 1987 | Hamilton, ON, CAN |
de Jong, Marcel | 1986 | Toronto, ON, CAN |
De Rosario, Dwayne | 1978 | Scarborough, ON, CAN |
Edgar, David | 1987 | Kitchener, ON, CAN |
Friend, Rob | 1981 | Kelowna, BC, CAN |
Hirschfeld, Lars | 1978 | Edmonton, AB, CAN |
Hutchinson, Atiba | 1983 | Brampton, ON, CAN |
Jackson, Simeon | 1987 | Mississauga, ON, CAN |
Jakovic, Dejan | 1985 | Etobicoke, ON, CAN |
Johnson, Will | 1987 | Toronto, ON, CAN|
Ledgerwood, Nik | 1985 | Lethbridge, AB, CAN |
McKenna, Kevin | 1980 | Calgary, AB, CAN |
Occean, Olivier | 1981 | Brossard, QC, CAN |
Pacheco, Pedro | 1984 | Toronto, ON, CAN |
Peters, Jaime | 1987 | Pickering, ON, CAN |
Ricketts, Tosaint | 1987 | Edmonton, AB, CAN |
Simpson, Josh | 1983 | Victoria, BC, CAN |
Straith, Adam | 1990 | Victoria, BC, CAN | Bays United SC

Head of Delegation / Chef de délegation : George Athanasiou
Head Coach / Entraîneur-chef : Stephen Hart
Assistant Coach / Entraîneur adjoint : Tony Fonseca
Goalkeer Coach / Entraîneur des gardiens : Paul Dolan
Video Coordinator / Vidéaste : Victor Mendes
Team Manager / Gérant d'équipe : Morgan Quarry
Equipment Manager / Gérant de l’équipement : Burns Jennings
Doctor / Docteur : Dr. John Philpott
Physiotherapist / Physiothérapeute : Ted Tilbury
Physiotherapist / Physiothérapeute : Dave Foley

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer