Canada Soccer

Canada announces NWSL allocations for 2014

Posted on 3 January 2014 in Around the Soccer World

Canada Soccer and the National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) have announced the official list of allocated players for the 2014 season, including the 16 Women’s National Team Canadians.

In addition to some returning players, four new Canadians have been allocated across the league’s nine clubs. The 16 Canada’s Women’s National Team players that will be featuring in this NWSL season are: Jonelle Filigno, Robyn Gayle, Selenia Iacchelli, Kaylyn Kyle, Karina LeBlanc, Adriana Leon, Erin McLeod, Diana Matheson, Carmelina Moscato, Rachel Quon, Sophie Schmidt, Desiree Scott, Lauren Sesselmann, Christine Sinclair, Chelsea Stewart and Melissa Tancredi.

The 16 Canadians join the 26 Americans and eight Mexicans allocated by their respective federation, for a total of 50 allocated players in NWSL for the 2014 season.

Canada Soccer is subsidizing the salaries of its 16 players, while U.S. Soccer and the Federation of Mexican Football do the same for their allocated players.

The club-by-club allocations of all 50 players are as follow:

Boston Breakers
Meghan Klingenberg (USA)
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Heather O'Reilly (USA)
Chelsea Stewart (CAN)
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)

Dinora Garza (MEX)

Chicago Red Stars
Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Christen Press (USA)
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Rachel Quon (CAN)

Houston Dash
Whitney Engen (USA)
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)
Teresa Noyola (MEX)

FC Kansas City
Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)

Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Portland Thorns FC
Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Christie Sinclair (CAN)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)

Jackie Acevedo (MEX)

Seattle Reign FC
Stephanie Cox (USA)
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Arianna Romero (MEX)

Sky Blue FC
Jill Loyden (USA)
Kelley O'Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Jonelle Filigno (CAN)
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)

Monica Ocampo (MEX)

Washington Spirit
Yael Averbuch (USA)
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Robyn Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)

Renae Cuellar (MEX)

Western New York Flash
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Selenia Iacchelli (CAN)
Veronica Perez (MEX)

The 2014 season of the NWSL is scheduled to start on 12 April, 2014. More details on expansion draft, college draft and season schedule will be released as it becomes available.

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) is a nine-team Division-I women’s professional soccer league featuring national team players from Canada, Mexico and USA. The nine clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Houston Dash, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, the Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash. Based in Chicago, the NWSL is supported by the Canadian Soccer Association, Federation of Mexican Football and the United States Soccer Federation. For more information about the NWSL, log on to the league’s official website at

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer