Canada Soccer

Calgary Callies win their 21st Alberta championship

Posted on 4 September 2017 in ↳ Challenge Trophy

The Calgary Callies will return to the Toyota National Championships for the first time in three years after capturing the 2017 Alberta men's provincial championship at the Calgary Soccer Centre. It was the Callies' 21st provincial title as they won 1:0 over Edmonton Green & Gold in the Monday 4 September final.

The modern Callies, briefly known as Calgary Celtic, have won 11 of the last 19 Alberta provincial titles, also winning the national Challenge Trophy in 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2008. Coach Dave Randall has coached 10 of those 11 teams, including all four Challenge Trophy-winning seasons.

"It was pretty tense up through to the final whistle," said Randall. "We dominated play in the first half, but they pushed more in the second half. They were hammering balls forwards, but our defenders dealt with it very well. I don't think they got any clear-cut chances until the end."

Two-time national winner André Duberry scored the game's lone goal in the 33rd minute after Cody Cook beat a pair of opponents and provided the cross. Duberry headed home the winner at the back post. Callies' goalkeeper Seth Richardson posted the clean sheet.

In the provincial final, Calgary Callies' starting lineup featured Seth Richardson in goal, André Duberry at right back, Daylan Mayer and Allen Jovica at centre back, Hashmat Amanullah at left back, Lucas Rajcic, Daniel Connolly, Francisco Miron, and Tanmeet Singh at midfield, and Cody Cook and Ian Greedy up front. Elvis Kastrati featured as a substitute while Simon Dawe, Eric Roa, Qyam Qurbani, William De Silva, and Nagib Neto Miguel all dressed but did not feature. Diego Forno, Michael Moretti, and Shane Tolan were unavailable through injuries while Kenneth Murphy was unavailable and Yusuph Kalenga was not released by his school.

The Calgary Callies won 10 Alberta Soccer provincial championships from 1908 to 1950, as well as five Canada Soccer provincial playdowns from 1921 to 1951 (including the provincial double in 1938 and 1950). 

Canada Soccer’s Toyota National Championships serves as our nation’s premier amateur competition, with the 2017 edition featuring close to 600 clubs from across the country competing for a spot at one of three locations: the men’s Challenge Trophy and women’s Jubilee Trophy finals in Surrey, British Columbia; the boys and girls U-17 Cup finals in Fredericton, New Brunswick; and the boys and girls U-15 Cup finals in Calgary, Alberta. The Toyota National Championships provide a meaningful soccer experience for host cities and participating teams, as well as the players, coaches, support staff, officials, and volunteers. These competitions are complimented by both the Futsal Canadian Championship and the Canadian Championship featuring Canada’s professional clubs.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer