Canada Soccer

British Columbia and Alberta lead the way in St. John's at the 2019 Toyota National Championships Jubilee Trophy

Posted on 10 October 2019 in ↳ Jubilee Trophy

British Columbia and Alberta lead the way in St. John's as the 2019 Toyota National Championships Jubilee Trophy competition gets underway. Newfoundland and Labrador are represented by two teams in this year's competition and they faced stiff opposition in sunny conditions on opening day. Coquitlam Metro Ford opened with a 5:0 victory over Northwest Winnipeg. Edmonton Northwest defeated Holy Cross 3:1. The Jubilee Trophy final goes Sunday, 13 October live on CanadaSoccerTV. 

Feildians Greensleeves (NL2) 1:1 (ON) Scarborough GS United

Deadlocked at 0:0 through 80 minutes of play when Ontario’s Meghan Mckye opened the scoring for the 2018 Toyota National Championships Jubilee Trophy winners. Scarborough United’s Feildians’ Stacey Hanlon earned Newfoundland & Labrador the draw with her goal in the 84'.

Edmonton Northwest (AB) 3:1 (NL1) Holy Cross Avalon Ford

Newfoundland & Labrador’s women’s champions Holy Cross also drew level in their opening match with a 29’ goal by Holly O'Neil. Alberta scored three goals: Jaime Erickson (16'), Sheena Tracey (49'), and Raeghan McCarthy (80') to earn three points.

Coquitlam Metro Ford (BC) 5:0 (MB) Northwest Winnipeg

Manitoba couldn’t break British Columbia’s Emily Wilson who earned a shutout. BC’s Erin Uchacz had a pair of goals (45+1, 84'), after Madison Obirek (22'), Courtney Sheppard (28') scored their first half goals. Hayley Melvin (52') also scored for Coquitlam.

Royal Select Beauport (QC) 1:0 (NS) United Dartmouth FC

Quebec’s Royal Select Beauport, the 2016 Jubilee Trophy winners, earned the three points on a 53’ goal from Audrey Genois and a shutout by Joelle Morasse. UDFC are representing Nova Scotia in both the Challenge and Jubilee Trophy competitions in 2019.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer