Canada Soccer

Attakora, Stewart named Canadian U-20 Players of the Year

Posted on 16 December 2009 in Awards & Recognition

The Canadian Soccer Association announced today that Nana Attakora and Chelsea Stewart have been named Canadian U-20 Players of the Year for the 2009 soccer season. The two stars were honoured in a vote shared by national-team coaches (50%) and Canadian coaches who have taken the Canadian Soccer Association's national course at the B and A levels (50%).

Stewart split her 2009 international season between Canada's national and U-20 teams. She made six appearances at the national level under new head coach Carolina Morace, making her debut on 5 March 2009 at the Cyprus Women's Cup. At the women's U-20 level, she made four appearances as Canada began preparations for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Germany 2010. She served as a team captain at the U-20 level.

The defender/midfielder from The Pas, MB split her club season between Vancouver Whitecaps FC and Vanderbilt University. She played in 10 W-League games for the Whitecaps and 18 college games for Vanderbilt. She scored three goals for Vanderbilt.

As for Attakora, the North York, ON defender is now a two-time winner of the Canadian U-20 Player of the Year award. Like Stewart, he served as a Canadian captain at the U-20 level. In March, he represented Canada at the 2009 CONCACAF Men's Under-20 Championship. He made his 20th appearance at the U-20 level on 9 March 2009, a 2:0 victory over Mexico.

At the club level, Attakora played 20 games for Toronto FC during the 2009 Major League Soccer season. He recorded two goals and four assists. He also played in four Nutrilite Canadian Championship games, helping Toronto FC win the 2009 Voyageurs Cup.

Yesterday, the Canadian Soccer Association announced that Russell Teibert and Abigail Raymer were both named the Canadian U-17 Players of the Year. Later this week, the Canadian Soccer Association will announce the 2009 Canadian Players of the Year.

2009 – Nana Attakora & Chelsea Stewart
2008 – Nana Attakora & Jonelle Filigno
2007 – Asmir Begovic & Sophie Schmidt
2006 – David Edgar & Jodi-Ann Robinson
2005 – Ryan Gyaki & Kara Lang

Male Nominees (born 1989 or later) from the Men's U-20 team
1. Nana Attakora-Gyan (36.5)
2. Marcus Haber (31.6)
3. David Hoilett (14.95)
4. Randy Edwini-Bonsu (10.4)
5. Adam Straith (5.2)
6. Eddy Sidra (0.7)
7. Adam Street (0.35)

Female Nominees (born 1990 or later) from the Women's U-20 team
1. Chelsea Stewart (41.1)
2. Taylor Patterson (22.2)
3. Jonelle Filigno (14.6)
4. Gina Pacheco (8.8)
5. Laura Chénard (3.4)
5. Dayle Colpitts (3.4)
7. Lexi Marton (1.3)
8. Geneviève Richard (0.5)
8. Shannon Woeller (0.5)

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer