Canada Soccer

Atiba Hutchinson is the male selection for 2010 Canadian Players of the Year award

Posted on 17 December 2010 in Men's National Team

The Canadian Soccer Association announced today that Atiba Hutchinson is the male selection for the 2010 Canadian Players of the Year award. Hutchinson was honoured in a vote shared by Canadian media (50%) and Canadian coaches who have taken the Canadian Soccer Association's national course at the B and A levels (50%).

Hutchinson of Brampton, ON wins the award for the first time. His co-winner Christine Sinclair of Burnaby, BC – announced yesterday – is a six-time winner of the prize.

"This is a fantastic achievement for Atiba and well deserved," said Canadian national coach Stephen Hart. "He has worked hard for what he has achieved. He always answers the call to represent his country and he is a terrific ambassador. I wish him well and urge him to continue enjoying his soccer."

Hutchinson had another big year at the club level in Europe. He split the year between F.C. København in Denmark and PSV Eindhoven in Netherlands. He rounded out a stellar career in Denmark by winning the Dansk Fodbold Award as the top player in the Danish Superleague. He then joined PSV Eindhoven with whom he has featured regularly while keeping the club first in the Eredivise standings through mid December. In UEFA Europa League, he helped PSV Eindhoven finish first in Group I and progress to the following round.

At the national level, Hutchinson celebrated his eighth season in Canada by making his 50th appearance in a memorable trip to Kyiv, Ukraine. Hutchinson scored a goal in that 2:2 draw on 8 October. He was also in Canada's lineup for the 2:1 victory over Honduras at Stade Saputo in Montréal, QC on 7 September, in all playing three matches for Canada in 2010.

While the media across the country and coaches from the community levels to national teams honoured Hutchinson and Sinclair as the top national players, Canadian coaches honoured two pairs of teenagers earlier this week in other 2010 player award announcements. Ethan Gage (Cochrane, AB) and Jonelle Filigno (Mississauga, ON) were named co-winners of the Canadian U-20 Players of the Year award while Bryce Alderson (Kitchener, ON) and Diamond Simpson (Mississauga, ON) were named co-winners of the Canadian U-17 Players of the Year award.

Fan voting for the 2010 Fans' Choices, meanwhile, runs through 19 December 2010. Fans can still make their two selections (one male, one female) at

1. Atiba Hutchinson (31.4)
2. Dwayne De Rosario (24.6)
3. Simeon Jackson (13.1)
4. Josh Simpson (9.9)
5. Adrian Cann (8.4)
6. Will Johnson (4.9)
7. Adam Straith (3.8)
8. Nana Attakora (3.1)


2010 - Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2009 – Simeon Jackson & Christine Sinclair
2008 – Julian de Guzman & Christine Sinclair
2007 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2006 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2005 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2002 - Charmaine Hooper
1998 - Tomasz Radzinski & Silvana Burtini
1996 - Paul Peschisolido & Geraldine Donnelly
1995 - Alex Bunbury & Charmaine Hooper
1994 - Craig Forrest & Charmaine Hooper
1993 - Alex Bunbury

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer