Canada Soccer

Alderson, Simpson named Canadian U-17 Players of the Year

Posted on 13 December 2010 in Awards & Recognition

Canadian teenagers Bryce Alderson and Diamond Simpson have been named Canadian U-17 Players of the Year for the 2010 soccer season. The two stars were honoured in a vote shared by national-team coaches (50%) and Canadian coaches who have taken the Canadian Soccer Association's national course at the B and A levels (50%).

Alderson is a member of Canada’s men’s U-17 team. He took part in four trips with the Canadian team this past season, including a first-place finish at the Tournoi International Paul Chillan in Fort de France, Martinique. He served as Canada’s captain and made four international youth appearances - two wins and two losses from October through early November. The team is currently preparing for the 2011 CONCACAF Men’s Under-17 Championship.

The Ontario midfielder also won a silver medal at the 2010 BMO National Championships Nutrilite All Stars U-16 Boys competition. He played for Kitchener Spirit and Portugal FC before joining the Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency Program in September.

Simpson is a member of Canada’s women’s U-17 team. She helped Canada win the 2010 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship and qualify for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Trinidad and Tobago 2010. She served as Canada’s vice captain and made 15 international youth appearances. She scored her first goal on 13 March 2010 in a 2:1 victory over Panama.

Simpson also got a call up to the women’s national team after the U-17 season was complete. Currently in Brazil, she took part in the U-18 camp (the future U-20 women’s team) and full national camp. She made her first appearance with the full national team on 9 December 2010 - a 5:0 victory over Netherlands.

In 2010, U-17 national coaches Sean Fleming (men) and Bryan Rosenfeld (women) featured 73 different players in their national camps and competitions. That doesn’t count an additional 47 players who took part in boys and girls U-15 camps with coaches Ray Clark (boys) and Dave Benning (girls).

Tomorrow (Tuesday), the Canadian Soccer Association will announce the 2010 Canadian U-20 Players of the Year. On Thursday (female) and Friday (male), the Association will announce the 2010 Canadian Players of the Year.


2010 - Bryce Alderson & Diamond Simpson
2009 – Russell Teibert & Abigail Raymer
2008 – Russell Teibert & Monica Lam-Feist
2007 – Olivier Lacoste-Lebuis & Monica Lam-Feist


Male Nominees (born 1994 or later) from the BMO Financial Group - Men's U-17 team / Joueurs en nomination (nés en 1994 ou après) de l'équipe masculine U17 Groupe financier BMO

1. Bryce Alderson (45.5)
2. Keven Aleman (29.9)
3. Matteo Pasquotti (11.4)
4. Samuel Piette (6.3)
5. Ismaïl Benomar (2.6)
5. Marco Lapenna (2.6)

Female Nominees (born 1993 or later) from the BMO Financial – Women's U-17 team / Joueuses en nomination (nées en 1993 ou après) de l'équipe féminine U17 Groupe financier BMO

1. Diamond Simpson (37.5)
2. Sabrina D’Angelo (31.5)
3. Nicole Setterlund (16.2)
4. Alison Clarke (7.4)
5. Haisha Cantave (3.2)
6. Caroline Beaulne (2.3)

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer