Canada Soccer

2017 Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC advance to Concacaf Champions League Final

Posted on 11 April 2018 in FIFA Club World Cup

Canadian International Jonathan Osorio scored early in the first half to earn Toronto FC a 1:1 (4:2) draw with Club América in the second leg of their Concacaf Champions League Semi-Final match at Estadio Azteca. The result earns the 2017 Canadian Championship winners a place against Mexican side Club Deportivo Guadalajara in the 2018 Concacaf Champions League final.

Osorio's third goal of Toronto FC's Concacaf Champions League campaign came in the 12' from Men's National Team teammate Tosaint Ricketts who'd come on minutes earlier as an injury replacement. Canadian Internationals Ashtone Morgan, who scored in the first leg, was a stalwart in defence for Toronto playing 90 minutes, and Jordan Hamilton replaced Ricketts in the 80'.

With their victory, Toronto become the second Canadian team to qualify for a Concacaf Champions League Final. In 2015, Montréal Impact FC played in Canada's first Final falling 2:4 (3:5) to Club América after going ahead early in front of 61,004 at Olympic Stadium.

Toronto FC earned Canada’s sole spot in 2018 Concacaf Champions League by defeating Montréal Impact in the 2017 Canadian Championship. It marked Toronto's sixth Canadian title and fifth qualification to Concacaf Champions League. Since the debut of both competitions in 2008, three Canadian winners have reached the Quarter-final stage or further in Concacaf Champions League: Toronto FC once (Semi-finals in 2011-12), Montréal twice (Quarter-finals in 2008-09 and Grand Final in 2014-15), and Vancouver Whitecaps FC once (Semi-finals in 2016-17).

From 16 finalists in 2018 Concacaf Champions League, only the Concacaf winner will advance to the FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates from 12 to 22 December.


Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer