Canada Soccer

2014 Amway Canadian Championship schedule announced

Posted on 6 December 2013 in Canadian Championship

The schedule is set for the 2014 Amway Canadian Championship, the national competition featuring the country’s five professional clubs that determines Canada’s representative for the CONCACAF Champions League.

This seventh edition of the championship will see Ottawa Fury FC, Canada’s newest NASL club, and FC Edmonton, play a preliminary knock-out home and away round. The winner, the team that scores the greater aggregate of goals over the two matches, will secure the fourth semi-final place and join the three Canadian MLS clubs, Montreal Impact, Toronto FC and Vancouver Whitecaps FC in the next round.

The three MLS clubs have been seeded according to their final position in league play for 2013, with the winner of the preliminary round entering the competition seeded in fourth place.

2014 Amway Canadian Championship seeding
1. Montreal Impact
2. Vancouver Whitecaps FC
3. Toronto FC
4. Winner of Ottawa Fury FC/FC Edmonton

As per previous years, the semi-final stage of the competition is played on a home and away knock-out format in which the highest ranked team will play at home in the second leg. The team which scores the greater aggregate of goals in the two matches qualifies for the final.

The final will also be played on a home and away basis (two legs). The highest seeded team qualified for the final has the option of deciding which leg it plays at home. Once again, the team that comes on top on aggregate for the two matches is declared champion and earns the right to represent Canada in the 2014-2015 CONCACAF Champions League.

2014 Amway Canadian Championship schedule
(home team listed first)

23 April 2014 Preliminary round - first leg Ottawa Fury FC v FC Edmonton
30 April 2014 Preliminary round - second leg FC Edmonton v Ottawa Fury FC
7 May 2014

Semi Final 1 - first leg

Semi Final 2 - first leg

Ottawa Fury FC/FC Edmonton v Montreal Impact

Toronto FC v Vancouver Whitecaps FC

14 May 2014

Semi Final 1 - second leg

Semi Final 2 - second leg

Montreal Impact v Ottawa Fury FC/FC Edmonton

Vancouver Whitecaps FC v Toronto FC

28 May 2014

Final - first leg*

4 June 2014 Final - second leg  

*this game will be played on 27 May if Vancouver Whitecaps FC plays at home.

Once again this year the Amway Canadian Championship will be broadcast on Sportsnet.

Through the first six editions of the Amway Canadian Championship, Impact Montréal were inaugural champions (2008) followed by Toronto FC who won the Voyageurs Cup in four successive seasons (2009 to 2012), before Impact Montreal won the championship again in 2013. In CONCACAF Champions League, Impact Montréal (2008-09) reached the quarter-final phase while Toronto FC (2011-12) has participated in the semi-final round of continental club championship.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer