Canada Soccer

Élans Garneau win fourth-straight CCAA women's championship

Posted on 12 November 2017 in Around the Soccer World

The Collège François Xavier Garneau won their 10th national title at 2017 CCAA Women's Soccer Championship. The Québec-based school won 1:0 over Champlain College Saint-Lambert in an all-Québec final on Saturday 11 November in Halifax, Nova Scotia. It was Garneau's fourth-straight championship.

Marie-Christine Letellier of Québec scored the lone goal of the final in the second half. Anne-Marie Laroche posted the clean sheet and was named her team's player of the match in the final.

Garneau have won 10 of the past 16 championships, having won successive years from 2002 to 2004, again in 2007, back-to-back in 2010 and 2011, and now four straight from 2014 to 2017. Garneau also won silver medals in 2000, 2005, and 2013 as well as a bronze medal in 2006. That makes 14 medals in 18 years.

In the championship final, Garneau's starting XI featured Anne-Marie Laroche (goal), Eve Malo, Chloé Decelles, Ariane Langlois, Matis Giroux-Lapointe, Marie-Laurence Marquis, Daphnée Blouin, Audrey Genois, Frédérique Métivier, Ariane Routhier, and Marie-Christine Letellier. Coach Vincent Cournoyer featured Judy Gagnon, Zoé Lavigueur, Maribel Giroux-Arita, and Maxyme Nobert as substitutes while Sandrine Gilbert, Alexandra Isabel and Catherine Bissonette dressed but did not feature.Winnie-Melanie Chebon, Sophie Huard, Laurier Viel, and Ariane Doré did not dress.


1. Collège François Xavier Garneau
2. Champlain College Saint-Lambert
3. Algonquin College
4. Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
5. Douglas College
6. Grande Prairie Regional College
7. St. Thomas University
8. Dalhousie Agricultural Campus

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer