Canada Soccer Association

Sportsnet announces Olympic Qualifying broadcast schedule

Posted on 9 January 2012 in Women's Olympic Football Tournament

Sportsnet has released the broadcast schedule for the 2012 CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament. The schedule features all 15 matches from 19-29 January, specifically the group matches featuring the eight competing teams as well as the semi-final and championship matches on 27 and 29 January. The full broadcast schedule will be delivered live from BC Place in Vancouver, BC.

Of the eight competing teams, only two will qualify for the London 2012 Women's Olympic Football Tournament. The eight teams are divided into two groups, with Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba and Haiti in CONCACAF Group A and Dominic Republic, Guatemala, Mexico and USA in CONCACAF Group B. The top-two teams from each group will advance to the semi-final stage.

Winners of the semi-final matches on 27 January will not only earn a spot in the CONCACAF championship, but will also qualify for the London 2012 Olympics.

This marks the third edition of the CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualifying tournament (2004, 2008, 2012). Four years ago in 2008, it was USA, Canada, Mexico and Costa Rica that finished first through fourth, with undefeated teams USA and Canada qualifying for the Beijing 2008 Olympics. Since 2008, the most recent CONCACAF women's championship in 2010 (FIFA Women's World Cup Qualifiers) ranked Canada, Mexico, USA and Costa Rica from first through fourth (it was Canada's second CONCACAF women's championship). USA, meanwhile, is the reigning Olympic champion and number-one ranked nation on the FIFA/Coca-Cola Women's World Ranking.

Be sure to tune into Sportsnet to watch live coverage of every game of the 2012 CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualifying tournament:

Thursday 19 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Group A - Costa Rica vs. Cuba on Sportsnet One, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet Pacific
Thursday 19 January at 22.30 ET / 19.30 PT: Group A - Canada vs. Haiti on Sportsnet One, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet Pacific
Friday 20 January at 17.00 ET / 14.00 PT: Group B - Mexico vs. Guatemala on Sportsnet Pacific
Friday 20 January at 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT: Group B - Dominican Republic vs. USA on Sportsnet Pacific
Saturday 21 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Group A - Haiti vs. Costa Rica on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Saturday 21 January at 22.30 ET / 19.30 PT: Group A - Canada vs. Cuba on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Sunday 22 January at 17.00 ET / 14.00 PT: Group B - Mexico vs. Dominican Republic on Sportsnet One
Sunday 22 January at 19.00 ET / 16.00 PT: Group B - USA vs. Guatemala on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Monday 23 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Group A - Cuba vs. Haiti on Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Monday 23 January at 22.30 ET / 19.30 PT: Group A - Canada vs. Costa Rica on Sportsnet One, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Tuesday 24 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Group B - Guatemala vs. Dominican Republic on Sportsnet One
Tuesday 24 January at 22.00 ET / 19.00 PT: Group B - USA vs. Mexico on Sportsnet One
Friday 27 January at 20.00 ET / 17.00 PT: Semifinal #1 - B1 vs. A2 on Sportsnet One
Friday 27 January at 23.00 ET / 20.00 PT: Semifinal #2 - A1 vs. B2 on Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific
Sunday 29 January at 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT: Final - Winner A1/B2 vs. Winner B1/A2 on Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific

Back to news list

Strategic Plan download

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014

FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015

Proud partners of Canada Soccer