Canada Soccer Association

Canada WNT ready to kick-off 2013 season

Posted on 11 January 2013 in Women's National Team / Olympic Team

Canada’s Women’s National Team will kick-off its 2013 season when it takes on hosts China PR in the opening match of the 2013 Yongchuan Cup in Yongchuan, China. (14.00 Saturday local; 01.00 ET Saturday; 22.00 PT Friday).

The first match of the three-game round-robin tournament in China will be Canada’s first fixture since capturing a bronze medal at the London 2012 Olympics, and for Head Coach John Herdman, the game is an ‘exciting’ launching point as his team begins its preparations for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015.

The Canadian coach has used the season’s first camp in China to call-up some young players – and Herdman has been pleased with the group’s chemistry in training in advance of the tournament.

“I think when you bring new players into a group, it always brings new energy,” said Herdman following Canada’s Friday training session at the Yongchuan Olympic Center.

“The young players have been great. The older players are feeding off them, and for the young players, just to be with these bronze medallists – it’s a real thrill for them.”

Despite the likelihood of integrating new players into the line-up – Herdman is adamant that his team need to put in an organized performance against a strong China PR team.

“Our team has to stay very compact and tight. That will lead us into what we want to do attacking wise.”

Fans will be able to track the match following limited live coverage on Twitter. Full match highlights and post-match reaction will be uploaded to CanadaSoccerTV after the game.

Following the match against China PR, Canada will take on Korea Republic on 14 January (19.00 local / 06.00 ET / 03.00 PT) before closing-out the tournament against Norway on 16 January (17.00 local / 04.00 ET / 01.00 PT).

Notes:

  • Canada defeated China PR in the last encounter between the two teams on 30 May, 2012 in Moncton, NB. Christine Sinclair converted a free kick from Diana Matheson to earn Canada a late 1:0 win in added time.
  • Canada has won three straight matches against China PR – but has an all-time record of 4W-14L-5D dating back to the first encounter between the two teams in 1986.
  • Usual captain Christine Sinclair is with the team in China, but is unavailable throughout the duration of the of the Yongchuan Cup due to suspension.
  • The four-team Yongchuan Cup - Four-Nation Women’s Tournament 2013 China PR runs 12-16 January with all matches taking place at the Yongchuan Olympic Center in Yongchuan, China.


 

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer