Canada Soccer

Canada to take on Asian Champions in final PNG2016 group match

Posted on 19 November 2016 in ↳ Women's EXCEL U-18 to U-20

Canada Soccer’s U-20 Women’s team will face Japan in its final group stage match at the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Papua New Guinea 2016. Canada is coming into the match looking for their first points in the tournament, focussed on being a problematic opponent for the Asian Champions.

“We’ve had three days since our last match and we’ve regrouped for this match against Japan,” said Canada Soccer U-20 Women’s Coach Daniel Worthington. “We know that Japan is going to be a difficult team to play. We’ve been watching them for a while and we know we can expect to see a fast game with lots of passing and movement, which will be an excellent learning opportunity for our players. Playing against a confederation champion, and a squad that won the FIFA U-17 World Cup in the last cycle, gives our players experience that they will need as they continue developing as footballers.”

With Japan expected to play a possession game, Canada will be focusing on defending against a world-class opponent, while trying to break through a solid defensive line. Although it is known for its offense, Japan’s defensive abilities can’t be underestimated – the team conceding just two goals in five games during qualifying for this FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup.

Fans can catch the action live on TSN starting at 15:50 local (00:50 ET/21:50 PT) with a repeat broadcast on TSN1 at 10:00 ET/07:00 PT and TSN2 at 20:00 ET/17:00 PT.

Canada Soccer Women’s National EXCEL Program, presented by Bell, brings together the best with the best at the national youth level. Operating across the U-14 to U-17 and U-18 to U-23 age groups, the program is designed to deliver an aligned talent structure and system that progresses more top players to Canada’s Women’s National Team.

Back to news list

Proud partners of Canada Soccer