Canada Soccer Association

Canada w20 qualifies for FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup

Posted on 9 March 2012 in FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup

Canada has qualified for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Japan 2012. Canada qualified with a victory over Panama in the 2012 CONCACAF Women's Under-20 Championship semi-final stage on Friday 9 March. It marked Canada's fourth-straight win at Estadio Rommel Fernández in Ciudad de Panama.

Also on Friday night, USA qualified for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup with a 4:0 victory over Mexico. As such, it will be Canada v USA in the Sunday 11 March championship final. Since 2004, Canada and USA have split the last four CONCACAF Women's Under-20 Championships (Canada in 2004 and 2008; USA in 2006 and 2010).

This marks the fifth time Canada has qualified for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup. Canada previously participated at Canada 2002 (silver medal), Thailand 2004, Russia 2006 and Chile 2008.

The 2012 CONCACAF Women's Under-20 Championship runs 1-11 March in Ciudad de Panama. On Sunday 11 March, Mexico will face Panama at 18.00 local (18.00 ET / 15.00 PT) in the match for third place - with the winner to qualify as CONCACAF's third representative at the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Japan 2012. As for the Canada-USA championship final, it will kick off at 20.00 local (21.00 ET / 18.00 PT) on Sunday night. All CONCACAF matches will be broadcast live on CONCACAF TV.

Back to news list

Canada Soccer Pathway

FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015

Proud partners of Canada Soccer