Canada Soccer Association

Canada looks to keep building at Yongchuan Cup

Posted on 13 January 2013 in Women's National Team / Olympic Team

Canada will take on Korea Republic in the second match of the 2013 Yongchuan Cup in Yongchuan, China on Monday 14 January (19.00 local; 06.00 ET, 03.00 PT).

Canada opened the tournament with a 1:0 win over hosts China PR, while opponents Korea Republic were defeated 2:0 by Norway.

For Head Coach John Herdman, the test against Korea Republic will be about building on Canada’s strong second-half performance during the opening-day win against China PR and ensuring that the team keeps firmly focused on its long-term goals.

“Our second half performance against China PR was very controlling. We have taken a step forward – but the key is to take another step and keep pushing the players to do certain things that can be very uncomfortable,” said Herdman.

“We need to continuously push our players to improve their technique and their decision-making skills to the highest level.

“If we continue to play with that philosophy – we may not win every game – but we will be taking this team closer to where it needs to be in 2015.

Fans will be able to track the match following limited live coverage on Twitter. Full match highlights and post-match reaction will be uploaded to CanadaSoccerTV after the game.

Following the match against Korea Republic, Canada will close out the competition with a game against Norway on 16 January (17.00 local; 04.00 ET; 01.00 PT).

Notes:

  • Canada is undefeated all-time against Korea Republic with a record of 3W-0L-0D dating back to the first encounter between the two teams in 2000.
  • The four-team Yongchuan Cup - Four-Nation Women’s Tournament 2013 China PR runs 12-16 January with all matches taking place at the Yongchuan Olympic Center in Yongchuan, China.

     

Back to news list

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014

FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015

Proud partners of Canada Soccer